Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

New to RC Boating, need advice

Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

New to RC Boating, need advice

Old 08-18-2010, 04:32 PM
Fredi28

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to RC Boating, need advice

Hello all,

I am an RC boat newbie and am in the middle of my first scratch build. I am building a Jerry Dunlap 1/10th scale crackerbox, and am ready to coat the inside of the hull with apoxy. I want to start ordering the hardware as installing that will be my next step, but since I am new to this I am having a hard time figuring out what kind of set-up would work best for my boat. There just seems to be tons of options!

Was wondering if I could get some suggestions or help as to what I should go with for:

Motor - Plans say it should be a .05 motor, but I am not really clear as to what that means. I am leaning towards brushless but I am unsure as to what the specifics of the motor need to be.

ESC

Prop - here the plans tell me to use either an Oxtura X432 or X435 prop, so which motor would run best with this prop set-up.

I am sure I will have a lot more questions along the way, and once I get the inside apoxied I will try and get some pictures up here for me. I appreciate any help you can offer.

Thanks!

Mike
Old 08-18-2010, 05:42 PM
n.h.schmidt

Default RE: New to RC Boating, need advice

Hi
I have built two plastic CBs and have seen dozens of other CBs at races.Some built from plans like yours. Are you going to keep the boat with a submerged prop like the plans show? It was designed to use a 05 Roar Stock 27 turn brushed motor. Still available today. There is a BL equivalent motor available. Of course you can use any motor if desired if,you aren't raceing .