Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

need help on a zen G260PUM

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

need help on a zen G260PUM

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2012, 01:55 AM
zazza

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need help on a zen G260PUM

I'm a hooked up newbie and have a G260PUM in a 54" Scarab, with a 257carb, clutch, pump and a pipe.

I’ve fitted everything myself and I was very happy with the setup ......now it sort of rhythmically losing power on WOT!!
It cycles from full throttle to half in a rhythmic manner....

I noticed also that it is not shutting down when I fully close down the throttle; it stays at very slow smooth idle!
Checked the carb for correct operation and I can see nothing wrong.

Took out the isolator block and re skimmed it to make sure it's flat, but had no luck!!

Reset carb to factory settings and still the same if not a bit worse!! (L2/H1)

lost now....still thinking it might be sucking air but I don't know how to proceed??
What the correct way of checking things because I’m lost. I don't have access to water often so if there are any checks I can do in the garage its better!!
<o></o>

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11982.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	92.6 KB
ID:	1716123   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq47421.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	92.6 KB
ID:	1716124  
Old 01-19-2012, 03:08 AM
glennb2006

Default RE: need help on a zen G260PUM

Might be an air leak.

But looking at the photos, check your carb isolator, I think you have it mounted upside down, the tapping for the water pump normally comes of the bottom pulse line.

Also, if running a lid on the model make sure you have enough air getting in (Run with lid off to prove this one). Do you have a clear breatehr on your fuel tank, if using a hard tank. IE can air get in when petrol is drawn out?
Is your radio / servo OK and not doing anything stupid at range when on the water?