Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

Boat to fit motor?

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Boat to fit motor?

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2004, 02:53 PM
SlinginINK

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Boat to fit motor?

Hello,
I am new to this. I am very interested is running a gas boat this year. I have a few questions that some of you might be able to answer for me. I want to run a gas deep v with a weedwacker engine or similar type of motor.

Has anyone ever used or heared of using a husqvarna or stihl chainsaw motor in the 40-50cc range? I have several of these and wish to use them, they are very high RPM, (12,000)

What size of deep v (length) would I need for a motor that size?

Will I have a problem with finding a propeller for that type of motor?
Anything you see as a problem would be great.
Thanks
Old 03-31-2004, 04:15 PM
OLD_SLOW and in the WAY

Default RE: Boat to fit motor?

Yeah man ! ! go for it.
there are some very nice drag hydro hulls about to hit the market. with the power of the saw engine a twin screw overdrive is very do able so you could spin two (normal) sized prop near 17,000 rpm. and with a good clutch set up you could do hole shots/wheelies..... or would it be a transomee
prop shop makes some 3 1/2" diameter 3 blades
Old 03-31-2004, 04:56 PM
SlinginINK

Thanks,

I really do not want to run a hydro as I am a little worried about the somewhat rough water I will be on and I will be using the boat mostly on a couple small rivers where I will not have very much room to turn around. So I think a deep v might be a better choice unless there is a design someone knows about.

The trouble I am running into is all of the hulls I have found online do not have a description of what motors to run in them. I do not have any problem with building a hull either.
Old 03-31-2004, 07:03 PM
magyarbacsi