Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

Arneson/RCM/MH$ Drives

Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Arneson/RCM/MH$ Drives

Old 11-11-2007, 08:00 AM
Detective

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Arneson/RCM/MH$ Drives

I'm new to the gasser world and I don't want to tramp on any anyones toes here but it seems real looking outdrives would be the way to go for that scale look. My first gasser is a Cat I am presently trying to put pieces together for. I've seen many Cat races and most have outdrives, I/O types not inboards. With that said I am looking hard at the S6 and Z Drive. The RCM looks nice but I can't find any real info on it. Arneson is to have something out in the spring of 08 but that doesn't help me now.
I have a 50" Forabuck Cat which will have the inline Zen I2. Yes I'm doing it. I figure you don't need to run WFO all the time and if it doesn't work in this hull I can transplant into something that it will. What are your thoughts on these drives?
There have been many questions on these, about an hors worth, but it seems everyone gets side tracked.
Any and all help would be appreciated.
Old 11-11-2007, 09:42 AM
yeeharacing

Default RE: Arneson/RCM/MH$ Drives

Unfortunately we seem to be having problems tracking down drives ourselves.
The RCM drive is in limbo, there are rumors of a new one coming out but no one knows for sure.
The MHZ drive is available as far as I know but it is extremely over priced and from what I'm hearing the support is horrible.
As far as I know Arneson is a full scale provider and doesn't provide drives for R/C.
HPR does have a scale version of the arneson drive and it is available as far as I know.

For that cat you would be better off going with a Top Secret or Speedmaster strut and rudder setup.

I myself have a project I put on hold because the RCM drives aren't available.

Old 11-11-2007, 12:13 PM
WATER_BUGG

I second that statement...
Old 11-11-2007, 09:29 PM