Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

Noob help

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2008, 06:50 PM
deslok113

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob help

This is my first build as I said before, when I needed some help with the cooling config. Now I have another problem. The hull is used in good condition, as stated before its a deep -V 36" I believe. It had an old OPS .65 in it; the fellow who sold it to me said that it was old and I should rebuild it. But I decided to buy another engine for it. I bought an OS Max .65. I put in new tank, tubing, fuel filter, etc. The servo's and radio gear I got from an RTR; I had that hit an 18' bass boat on the bayou I live by head onSMACKEROONIE!!!! A dumb move on my part to run on a bayou with high traffic, but at least the bass boat guy wasn't p.o.'ed even though I scratched his hull a little. :-)
I put it together correctly found the proper motor mount on the dumas web site, tested the electronics, and leak tested it. Today was to be it's test fire day. I connected its cooling inlet to a water pump to pump water throught the head when I was bench running it. Next I tried to fuel the new tank. Fuel gushed out of the carb all over the inner bottom of the hull. I pulled the fuel tube off the carb by the filter and plugged it with a small screw driver. I filled the tank the rest of the way. I unscrewed the new glow plug I put in it and used my electric starter to blow out the excess fuel from the cylinder. I reconnected the fuel line to the filter and heater the plug, again fuel gushed out of the carb and the cylinder filled up with fuel. Should I punch a nail through the extra tube fitting on the tank rubber cork? or loosen the cork? what am I doing wrong? Help is greatly appreciated.
Old 09-11-2008, 07:01 PM
jetpack
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Noob help

There's two ways to set up a tank.