Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

Just got my brand new Thundercat 31!

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

Just got my brand new Thundercat 31!

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2010, 01:46 PM
helicrazedout

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just got my brand new Thundercat 31!

well i just got a brand new thundercT 31 and all i can say is wow!!!!!! its a great boat. i broke in the engine then took her up to full speed and it handled very nicely. but i am a total noobie to rc nitro boats so any help suggestions maintence help on this boat would be appreaciated. also any upgrades i should do to this boat?? also whats this hydro lock thingy?? i heard it can break your engine so im a bit scared how do i avoid this?
Old 08-21-2010, 02:16 PM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: Just got my brand new Thundercat 31!

Hydrolock is filling the combustion chamber with water or flooding the engine with fuel really bad. With the TC-31 I really wouldn't worry about it much. If you see it heading for a flip, shut the engine down ASAP.
We've got a huge thread in here pertaining to this boat. In brief, an Octura M-445 prop seems to be the way to go for speed. You can port match the exhaust to help it breathe better.
OK, you're going to ask something like "Hey Ron, what's port matching?" so I might as well tell you now. Pull off the exhaust header and you'll see where the exhaust gases are being blocked by the header flange which is a lot more visible now that you've already run it. Where you see the oil stain is where the flow is being blocked. You want to use something like a Dremel tool with a short stack of cut-off wheels to make a smooth transition from the flange to the header tube being careful not to cut through to improve the flow. This alone can be worth up to 1,600 almost free RPM.