Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Sport Flying
Reload this Page >

I am new to flying and had my first crash

Community
Search
Notices
Sport Flying This forum is for those that like to fly just for the enjoyment of flying, and all the airplanes that help them. Discuss here the joys of flying and the airplanes that help you enjoy it.

I am new to flying and had my first crash

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2010, 10:24 PM
V-Rodrider1130cc
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I am new to flying and had my first crash

I expected to have a crash much sooner than later. I nose dived into the pavement because of the wind.I tore the nose off my plane. It had a e-flite park400 motor and it broke the shaft clean off. Good thing it is replaceable. Well I have had my first run at repairing balsa and I have attached photos below. That is why I like this hobby. Even though I love my planes I also love to work on them. This was a cheap fix.
Old 11-20-2010, 09:17 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: I am new to flying and had my first crash

Now you get your first experience with re-covering
Old 11-20-2010, 11:37 AM
cfircav8r

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Have you had help determining what caused the crash so you can avoid a repeat, and do you have help learning to fly?
Old 11-20-2010, 01:59 PM
smwave

VRod,

After taking a look at your pics, are you sure you've got the plane balanced right? The plywood box on the nose of the plane looks quite heavy and would throw off your CG and cause it to crash without even getting it airborne. If your kit shows where your CG is I'd make sure that you follow that before you take it out to fly.
Old 11-27-2010, 08:43 PM
V-Rodrider1130cc

Wind got me. I counter acted too much. I am buddy boxing now at the club I joined.
Old 11-27-2010, 08:46 PM
V-Rodrider1130cc