Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Sport Flying
Reload this Page >

Redwing RC 30cc MXS-R

Community
Search
Notices
Sport Flying This forum is for those that like to fly just for the enjoyment of flying, and all the airplanes that help them. Discuss here the joys of flying and the airplanes that help you enjoy it.

Redwing RC 30cc MXS-R

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2012, 02:19 PM
justonebigkid

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Redwing RC 30cc MXS-R

I've been flying RC planes for over 2 decades and recently had a hankering to get into a gasser. (Up till now my biggest plane is a Goldberg Ultimate with a Super Tigre 90 in it) I thought that those that might be wondering about doing the same thing might like to hear about my experience.

The first thing you notice when you decide to get into a gasser is that there is LOTS of choice out there. All sorts of styles and sizes etc. I spent ages looking at what's available. The first decision I made was to go for the 30cc size since this size seems to be a good introduction to gas and I wouldn't have the added expence of having to use a powerbox system to run the servo's. The next decision was the type of plane. I've always enjoyed aerobatics so it had to be something that would do that well and learning a bit of 3D would be a challenge too. So it looked like it was going to end up being an Extra, or an Edge, or an Sbach, or..... you know the list.

I'm in New Zealand so it didn't take long to have a look at our model shop websites and check out what was available. After that I searched the web, but the cost of freight was potentially a problem because the box would be fairly big. And that turned out to be so. On some web sites that automatically calculate the freight I would do the sums and it would work out way too expensive.