Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Best Mechanical Retracts (.40 Size)?

Hi guys/gals,

Give me your suggestions for the best .40 size mechanical retracts for the money. I'm going to attempt a 30% enlarged SIG Wonder with retracts, but I've never used mechanical retracts before so I don't know where to start looking. We have a paved runway at our field, though from time to time I end up at fly ins with grass runways, so sturdiness does matter.
    Ultra Sport Brotherhood #81

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Best Mechanical Retracts (.40 Size)?

I have a airborne-models Mustang that I purchased at a swap meet.  The retracts have been bent so that the gear cannot retract.  There is no good way to straighten the gear.  I would recommend that the gear 'legs' be replaceable. Not familiar with other brands.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Thanks for the advice.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

T-J.... Is your term mechanical retracts just retracts that will accept a control rod from a servo, or something else? I just saw three sizes of electrical retracts ( 25, 40, and large) that look very nice at the local hobby shop. They accept a Futaba connector and I don't believe they have hit the states yet. I had a set of Kraft electric retracts on a Pica T-28 years ago and loved the slow cycle time, but they were a bit problematic. Might buy a set to see how these units are.
    Tiger Flyer #49

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback