Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Helena, MT
    Posts
    517
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Rc Nobler aileron servo size?

    I recently had a lean run after replacing a glow plug and had to make the best of a final approach. I ended up landing hard on the wheels with only bent wire on my retracts that I could see. I fixed the wires and checked everything out and it all looked good and went for another flight. during the flight I kept having to make adustments to the aileron trim. I landed shortly after as I was having to hold a lot of aileron stick to keep it from rolling. Upon closer inspection, I noticed that both aileron servos had stripped gears.

    I have one servo per aileron mounted in the wing bays. The servos that were in the plane were standard airtonics analog servos with 43 oz in. torque. The servos have been fine for everything I have needed them for except for the hard landing. My question is do I need a higher torque servo or will the same rated torque in a metal geared servo work to prevent stripping if I were to have another hard landing.


    I was looking at the hd1250mg servos that have 41 oz in. torque and are all metal gear. They are only $7.50 each and are a little smaller than what I have now.
    Would these fit the bill or should I be looking for something a bit stronger in torque?

    Thanks for any help in choosing a suitable cost effective servo.

  2. #2
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    SAN ANTONIO, TX
    Posts
    2,294
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    **
    Last edited by sensei; 06-03-2014 at 04:47 AM.
    Fly It Like You Stole It!!!

  3. #3
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    SAN ANTONIO, TX
    Posts
    2,294
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    The truth is if you hit the ground at an angle that wrenches the control surfaces hard enough it doesn't matter if you are using servos with metal gears, along with high torque or not, you may still strip some gears. You only need servos with enough torque for flight loads on the control surfaces, so forget about outfitting for crash survivability, it is a waste of time.

    Bob
    Fly It Like You Stole It!!!

  4. #4
    TomCrump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Traverse City, MI
    Posts
    5,379
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Bob is right, but I would add that buying cheap servos is a waste of money.

    I suggest that you stick with a name brand, standard servo, from Hitec, JR, Airtronics, or Futaba.
    Tom C

    Sig Brotherhood # 120
    Kadet Brotherhood #155

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Helena, MT
    Posts
    517
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Thanks, I appreciate the feedback. And I will agree with you Tom, I don't want cheap servos. I find though that there is a difference between cheap and less expensive. I think there are plenty of non-name brand items out there that are less expensive and better quality than some of the items the name brands sell. I don't need to be paying for anybody's advertising. The servos I am looking at have good reviews with a good track record and are being sold by a reputable dealer that stands behind the products they sell. They have a much higher torque servo but didn't think I needed any more torque than what I currently have.

    I didn't think a higher torque servo would make any differnce in the strippability of the servos but wasn't sure about the metal gear vs the plastic gears. There are so many metal gear servos on the market today, I started thinking that maybe the trend was heading that way.

    I think I will try these servos out and if they work good might also put them in my gp mustang 40 kit.


  6. #6
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    SAN ANTONIO, TX
    Posts
    2,294
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I agree with Tom, I only use the best and most powerful servos that money can buy in all my models simply because of the size of my stuff. So I know that you can indeed strip out the very best servos, I have done it...LOL

    Bob
    Fly It Like You Stole It!!!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:37 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.