Sport Flying This forum is for those that like to fly just for the enjoyment of flying, and all the airplanes that help them. Discuss here the joys of flying and the airplanes that help you enjoy it.

Sig Four-Star 60

Reply
Old 01-20-2006, 04:40 PM
  #26
SigFan
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Greenville, RI
Posts: 194
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

I've built 2, both with TT 91's. The first I built stock except for clipping the wing. The second i added 3" to the rudder and 1" to the elevator. Both flew great, i still have the second. They tend to build a little tail heavy, so build accordingly. Good luck.
SigFan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 04:41 PM
  #27
Lowlevlflyer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Davis, OK
Posts: 896
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

I have the stock CA hinges on all surfaces except the rudder on mine. I built a larger rudder, and used the Robart hinges on it. The CA hinges are fine as long as you get enough CA wicked into the slots to get a good bite. I use 3 or 4 drops per side per hinge on mine. It's worked on all of them so far.
Lowlevlflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 04:43 PM
  #28
Lowlevlflyer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Davis, OK
Posts: 896
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

3" to the RUDDER??? Man, I thought I was going big when I add 1 1/2" to mine! Did you use the factory rod to connect the elevator halves, or did you do something different?
Quote:
ORIGINAL: SigFan

I've built 2, both with TT 91's. The first I built stock except for clipping the wing. The second i added 3" to the rudder and 1" to the elevator. Both flew great, i still have the second. They tend to build a little tail heavy, so build accordingly. Good luck.
Lowlevlflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 04:48 PM
  #29
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,546
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

Adding height to the rudder should make roll coupling even greater than it already is on a Four Star?

Enjoy,

Jim
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 04:54 PM
  #30
Lowlevlflyer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Davis, OK
Posts: 896
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

I think he's talking about width of the rudder, not height. I added 1.5 inches to the width of mine, but didnt increase the height or add a counter balance. I dont notice the roll coupling being any greater, but now it will knife edge forever. I can definitely see what you're saying about an increase in height possibly increasing the coupling.
Lowlevlflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 05:15 PM
  #31
g3steve
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: surrey, BC, CANADA
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

Hay guys a thank you for your imput ,I may have to rely on both of you to get the best results from the 4star.60.I am relitively new to the sport (6) planes all fly well .this is #7 so as far as changing surfesses -an other time maybe when i have more experience in the dinamics of biulding .Thanks a bunch STEVE
g3steve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 09:39 AM
  #32
SigFan
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Greenville, RI
Posts: 194
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

Hi,
I added 3" to the bottom of the rudder and 1/2 to the top, it's now triangular shaped, like an edge. Both rudder and elevator are pull-pull with HS475 servo's.

I did have to go back later and reinforce the mount on the rudder with a lite ply base, the balsa proved to be a little soft for the control horn. Works well now.
SigFan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 09:39 PM
  #33
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,546
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

That sounds like the way to go.

Good job

Jim
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 11:33 AM
  #34
Lowlevlflyer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Davis, OK
Posts: 896
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

How did you set up pull-pull on the elevators? Also, where did you mount your servos, I'm assuming you left the rudder servo in the tray, but what about the elevator? got any pics?
Quote:
ORIGINAL: SigFan

Hi,
I added 3" to the bottom of the rudder and 1/2 to the top, it's now triangular shaped, like an edge. Both rudder and elevator are pull-pull with HS475 servo's.

I did have to go back later and reinforce the mount on the rudder with a lite ply base, the balsa proved to be a little soft for the control horn. Works well now.
Lowlevlflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 12:21 PM
  #35
tomlee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 99
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

I have built 2 BTE venture 60's. Really nice kits. I like all of Tharpe's kits. I use magnum 91's with a 13x7 apc at 5400ft.
tomlee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 07:30 PM
  #36
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,546
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

http://www.btemodels.com/vt_about.html

http://www.venture60.com/

Enjoy,

Jim
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 07:37 PM
  #37
SigFan
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Greenville, RI
Posts: 194
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

This is my "beater" plane, I had a bad crash and broke it in half. Servo tray was out, the stock pushrods were all twisted. I almost threw it away and started no3. (I've since stolen the servo's for something else, but I have some pictures)

pic one is the tail with the extension. You can see the pull pull wires, they are loose - no servo's. Next is the exit area. I just used a couple of old nyrods and ran the cables inside. The third pic is the servo area. Rudder servo is center, the elevator servo is raised and over to one side.

I also got rid of the turtledeck (is was a total loss). With these mods it knife edges well, but still turns towards the belly on any application of rudder. I had hoped that the triangular shaped rudder would eliminate that tendancy. Next plane of this style I would build would be the venture 60, lighter and with some of the 4* bugs addressed.

The four star is an excellent flyer though. Didn't mean to hijack your post DarkLotus, good luck with your build and enjoy!

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Om32945.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	21.4 KB
ID:	393071   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay74668.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	14.0 KB
ID:	393072   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sn42282.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	41.4 KB
ID:	393073  
SigFan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 07:46 PM
  #38
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,546
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

Nice looking rudder.

Enjoy,

Jim
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 04:22 PM
  #39
g3steve
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: surrey, BC, CANADA
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

Hi gang joined my wing today -do you think it is a must to fiberglass the wing joint,and do i just use epoxy or resin?thanks for all your help.P.S - i like that Venture 60 ,might be a good kit for my first kit.?Good flying boyz talk soon .STEVE
g3steve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 04:40 PM
  #40
Lowlevlflyer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Davis, OK
Posts: 896
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

I glassed the wing joint on my Four Star ARF, just because I wanted a little extra strength there. I knew I was planning on wringing this plane out pretty hard, though. The hardest part was getting the covering off around the center section! I didnt use resin or epoxy either one on mine, just tacked the glass fabric down good and saturated it with thin CA. Works well, just a bit harder to sand. If you are planning on flying this plane hard, I'd go ahead and glass it. I'm not sure it really needs it, but hey, it cant hurt, right? Since your's is a kit, I'd definitely go ahead and do it!
Lowlevlflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 04:52 PM
  #41
g3steve
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: surrey, BC, CANADA
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

It is an ARF but i thought it would be a good thing to do so i will go ahead and do so.Thank you for your reply.STEVE
g3steve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 01:52 PM
  #42
g3steve
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: surrey, BC, CANADA
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

I was wondering how far from the fire wall should my saito f/s .91-be to the hub.I have in the past with my other planes gone 4 3/4 ".I am not to sure on this one.any help is good help .Thanks ...Steve
g3steve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 02:01 PM
  #43
TimC
 
TimC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lone Pine, CA
Posts: 2,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

Steve, on my 4* ARF with a Saito .91, I had to fab some extension rails to get the engine forward enough to balance without adding lead to the tail. Others here have reported that their 4*60 ARF's were very tail-heavy also.
TimC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 02:21 PM
  #44
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,546
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

I mounted my OS 91 Surpass as far forward as I could and put the battery as far forward as I could and mine balanced without any weight.

Enjoy,

Jim
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 03:06 PM
  #45
g3steve
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: surrey, BC, CANADA
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

TimC why would you have to add lead to the tail if you are already tail heavy?lead up front maybe but not on tail.
g3steve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 03:12 PM
  #46
TimC
 
TimC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lone Pine, CA
Posts: 2,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

Steve, you'll be old too some day. I meant the nose. I better go check the old four star anyway.
TimC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 03:43 PM
  #47
g3steve
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: surrey, BC, CANADA
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

Tim the way i read instructions i think 40 is old(cheers)I mounted it all the way foreward,hopful i wont have to add much weight to the nose.Thanks Tim.Steve
g3steve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 04:40 PM
  #48
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,546
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

I assembled my Four Star and postioned the battery and engine for balance. I guess that's the way to do it?

Enjoy,

Jim
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2006, 10:04 AM
  #49
Lowlevlflyer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Davis, OK
Posts: 896
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

Ive got the Magnum .91 mounted as far forward as I can on mine, with the battery pack right in front of the servo tray, and the Rx right behind the servo tray. Mine balanced with no additional weight also.
Lowlevlflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2006, 11:51 AM
  #50
delman
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 643
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sig Four-Star 60

My four star has an os91fs on it with the battery under the fuel tank with no extra weight added to balance.
delman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:52 PM.