Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Sport Flying
Reload this Page >

Staudacher S-300D Help Needed

Community
Search
Notices
Sport Flying This forum is for those that like to fly just for the enjoyment of flying, and all the airplanes that help them. Discuss here the joys of flying and the airplanes that help you enjoy it.

Staudacher S-300D Help Needed

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2007, 10:27 PM
Capt. John

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Staudacher S-300D Help Needed

Several weeks ago, I took my newly completed Staudacher ARF to the field for its maiden flight. Being a lower intermediate pilot, I entrusted the club’s most experienced pilot, over 30 years flying, to flight test it. It did not fly well!

It’s flying good at straight & level, climbing and diving, and does not try to stall when flying straight up. He tried to get it to stall, and it wouldn’t. But, when he banked the plane for a turn, it would start out banking fine, then suddenly the wing would dip and the plane would dive.

He thought that the 50% rudder-to-aileron mix I gave it was causing problems. He barely landed it without damage. He also thought it was behaving like it is was tail heavy, but I had used a CG Machine to set it after construction, taking ten weights on the tail, but he double checked this after the first flight, and confirmed it was good, according to the measurements in the manual (110 mm from LE). Even though this seemed like a lot of balancing weight for an OS.46, we couldn't argue with the manufacturer's specs. We also checked the left-right balancing and it was level.

So, I took the mix out, and we had a chance to refly it this weekend, same experienced pilot at the controls. But the problem was not resolved.

He almost crashed it several times, but managed to get about three-mistakes high and flew it for a few minutes. Each time he banked, though, the plane did this again. Then, the engine died. Not out of gas, but possibly overloaded.