Community
Search
Notices
SuperTigre Engines Support Ask Bill Baxter your questions regarding the SuperTigre line of engines.

1980 G20 SuperTigre Engine Help

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2005, 08:51 PM
baslico

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1980 G20 SuperTigre Engine Help

Can some please help. I'm new to the hobby and have a 25 year old Supertigre G20 engine that I'm trying to get going. The engine has been is storage for about 25 years, it has been run a handful of times in the early 80's. The engine was taken apart and carefully cleaned. I replaced the gas tank and fuel lines. I'm using 16% oil 5% nitro. I have replaced the glow plug twice. From a cold start the engine starts up fine and runs for a few minutes and then dies. I have tried adjusting both idle and high speed pins for hours but no luck. I'm starting to pull out the hair that I have left. Can anyone help me with this. Thanks in advance.
Old 04-20-2005, 10:11 AM
Bax
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: 1980 G20 SuperTigre Engine Help

We'd like to help you, but we need more information. When you say you have a SuperTigre "G20", exactly which engine do you mean? SuperTigre once made a number of engines in the "G20" series, all of different displacements. For example, there were a G20/15 and a G20/23. The second number is the displacement...one was a .15, and the other a .23. Which engine do you have?

If you have a different engine, please check to see exactly which engine you have. It may sound a bit picky, but with the different design series of SuperTigre engines over the years, it does make quite a difference. SuperTigre has made "G" series, "G-20" series, "G-21" series, "S" series, "GS" series, "X" series, and so on. Each series has had several different displacements in that design series.
Old 04-20-2005, 11:21 AM
baslico

Bax,

Thanks for the reply. The info on the motor says G20 and below it 1970 and on the other side has a 23. Hope that helps.