Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
Reload this Page >

HK 500 GT Build Thread

Community
Search
Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

HK 500 GT Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2011, 06:09 AM
Von Ohain

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HK 500 GT Build Thread

Hi!

This is my first build thread, so bear with me.
Sorry for the picture quality. I got my camera ruined by a careless friend some weeks ago, so all pictures were taken with a replacement cheapie.
The HK 500 GT arrives as a kit, but with major components pre assembled.
From building the HK 450, I learned that taking apart these components and going over with locktite is a good idea.
On my 500 however, they had done a good job, and all screws that in my opinion would need locktite, was already locktited in place.
That didnt stop me from checking, anyway.
The rotor head, the tail, and the frames is pretty much complete out of the box, so building it is a matter of sticking these together, and hooking it up with its electrics.
This is how it went:

I started with mounting the cyclic servos, as they can be a bit cumbersome to reach their mounting screws after the rotor and tail is in place.
I choose the Turnigy TGY 930, because they are cheap, got good critics, and are one of the few servos that will fit this copter, as it uses a odd servo dimension.
Something in between a standard servo, and a regular mini servo.

Then I mounted the rotor head, after doing the locktite routine on every single ball link ball, screw and nut.
They were already threadlocked, but I had to check.
Link lenths were already well adjusted, and I didnt have to alter any of them to make pitch go to zero with cyclic servos in neutral.
Only adjustment I did to the head links was to make blade tracking right.

Remember to hook in the tail the tail rotor belt, when you already got the frame split up for locktiting.