T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

Reply
Old 03-21-2007, 08:14 PM
  #1601
jonnzzo
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Swanton, VT
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

does anyone know if the DX7 has an interface so it can be used with the FMS simulator?. I assume for that kind of money it would, but you never know.
jonnzzo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 08:18 PM
  #1602
R/C Foolish
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BILLERICA, MA
Posts: 1,322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

I do not know for sure. The DX-7 is a brand new radio so they may not have an interface yet.

R/C Foolish
R/C Foolish is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 09:29 PM
  #1603
corona007
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chino, CA
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

Has anyone ever seen that car window sticker with a cartoon kid holding a TX and flying a heli inverted? Kinda like the ones that have a kid peeing on chevy, ford. I cant seem to find them anywhere. Thanks. Lou
corona007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:03 PM
  #1604
bobthehobo9
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

anybody have any suggestions for a good/reasonably priced receiver for the 450xl... I had the AR7000 that came with the DX7 but for some reason it stopped working ... when i hook the battery up to the receiver the esc makes noise and the 401 gyro lights up but nothing else works... everything worked fine yesterday; dont know what the problem is. I dont want to have to argue with spektrum that it is their problem and i dont want to have to wait weeks to get them to send a new one. So if anyone has any suggestions for a new one... maybe the AR6000; I dont want to pay $100 for a new AR7000...
bobthehobo9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:08 PM
  #1605
corona007
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chino, CA
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

Bob, Have you tryed rebinding it? I had the same problem and had to rebind it using the binding plug.
corona007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:12 PM
  #1606
bobthehobo9
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

corona,

isnt the rx light supposed to blink when the bind plug is inserted and turned on? if it is, there is definitely something wrong because mine doesnt blink...
bobthehobo9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:15 PM
  #1607
R/C Foolish
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BILLERICA, MA
Posts: 1,322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

1st you turn on the reciever and the 2 lights come on, then you turn on the transmitter holding the bind button, the lights will blink until it binds then they go solid again and you are done.

R/C Foolish

I just did mine tonight in my Cessna.
R/C Foolish is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:18 PM
  #1608
bobthehobo9
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: R/C Foolish

1st you turn on the reciever and the 2 lights come on, then you turn on the transmitter holding the bind button, the lights will blink until it binds then they go solid again and you are done.

R/C Foolish

I just did mine tonight in my Cessna.
when i turn on the rx no lights come on but i know its not the battery that is causing the problem b/c i have tried both the rx battey and the lipo
bobthehobo9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:18 PM
  #1609
corona007
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chino, CA
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

Yeah Bob it suppose to blink.....Bummer!
Lou
corona007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:21 PM
  #1610
bobthehobo9
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: corona007

Yeah Bob it suppose to blink.....Bummer!
Lou
definitely a bummer! would an AR6000 get the job done?
bobthehobo9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:25 PM
  #1611
corona007
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chino, CA
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

Yes, the AR6000 is compatibal with the DX7....
corona007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:26 PM
  #1612
bobthehobo9
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

good, I would rather spend $50-60 as opposed to the $100 for the 7000. This is making me mad [:@]
bobthehobo9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:28 PM
  #1613
R/C Foolish
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BILLERICA, MA
Posts: 1,322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

Spektrum should still replace your reciever.....it is not that old.

R/C Foolish
R/C Foolish is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:31 PM
  #1614
corona007
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chino, CA
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

Yeah it doesnt hurt to try sending it back. Just as long as its not chared or destroyed, You never know!
corona007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:32 PM
  #1615
bobthehobo9
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

true true, Its just that i dont want to have to wait 6 weeks to receive a new one. I wanna fly!!! I might eventually send it back and attempt to get a new one but like mentioned before, Im impatient... cant help it
bobthehobo9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:36 PM
  #1616
corona007
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chino, CA
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

I know the feeling! I carry at last on heli in my car in case I gt a break in the day to fly. LOL
It's like a bad addiction.
corona007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:45 PM
  #1617
bobthehobo9
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

im also the same way about flying! I always carry my headset, charts, and logbook with me in case i get the itch to fly
bobthehobo9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:53 PM
  #1618
corona007
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chino, CA
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

FSM simulator info. http://www.fsone.com/Articles/HobbyWire.aspx#743
corona007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 08:54 AM
  #1619
jonnzzo
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Swanton, VT
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

thanks for the link. I have been using a game pad to fly, I'm sure it as all different with the actual controler. I have crashed and burned many,many times. it's real hard to see where you are in relation to the ground, but I don't have all the controls figured out. there must be a way to zoom out. there is a little info at the top[ corner about alltitude and such. but look at that for a second and then next thing I know I AM CRASHED
jonnzzo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 11:45 AM
  #1620
consultjdm
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 5,860
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

First you put in the bind plug in the BATT slot on the RX, then plug it in, then turn on the TX with the bind button pushed in till it flases green.

JD
consultjdm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 11:49 AM
  #1621
consultjdm
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 5,860
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

I use the AR6000 in my Trex with my DX7.
Specktrum / horizon hobby will fix it for you if it is broken. They are very good. I had to return my old DX6 to get the Antena swival fixed because I broke it. They fixed it with no questions asked.
JD
consultjdm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 12:13 PM
  #1622
consultjdm
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 5,860
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

Soneebee,

I have the Bump Resistant on both my Trex and Walkera 60.

I got them at Helihobby but I'm sure you can find them a lot of places.

Programable/adjustable paddles. Wouldn't you think Align has found the perfect size and weight for the paddles, maybe their stock ones for beginners and their carbon ones for 3D and intermediate pilots? I'm not sure I could figure out what I would like and I am sure it would change for what I was trying to do, you would probably end up with a compromise. And I imagine that is what the Align blades are, a comprimise.

I'm suprised that the longer flybar doesn't slow down the response or make it quicker, I'm not sure which it would do. You said it made it more stable. Stable is good in hover but I don't really have a problem hovering and mine is stable. Sometimes stable could mean to slow to react. Kinda like having your HH Sensitivity to high, you can't get the tail to spin fast and you have to fight it to change direction but you have excellant heading hold.

So does the new flybar make it more stable and slow down the cyclic?

jd
consultjdm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 04:43 PM
  #1623
devmode
 
devmode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 262
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

Helihobby pulled through.

I got my V2 today. It is so cool that I just want to take it outside and run over it with my car....
devmode is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 08:57 PM
  #1624
soneebee
 
soneebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: las pinas, PHILIPPINES
Posts: 2,403
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

Jd,

am not sure what the performance of this programable paddles are.. have not seen it at acutual. I guess there is something good with it.. I am using currently are the stock paddles on my Heli.. its working okay.. but I will place my CF paddles on it one of this days.. it might perform better..
but for Cyclic I am getting too fast responses so i moved the weights at the paddle side just to lower the speed a little...


Quote:
ORIGINAL: consultjdm

Soneebee,

I have the Bump Resistant on both my Trex and Walkera 60.

I got them at Helihobby but I'm sure you can find them a lot of places.

Programable/adjustable paddles. Wouldn't you think Align has found the perfect size and weight for the paddles, maybe their stock ones for beginners and their carbon ones for 3D and intermediate pilots? I'm not sure I could figure out what I would like and I am sure it would change for what I was trying to do, you would probably end up with a compromise. And I imagine that is what the Align blades are, a comprimise.

I'm suprised that the longer flybar doesn't slow down the response or make it quicker, I'm not sure which it would do. You said it made it more stable. Stable is good in hover but I don't really have a problem hovering and mine is stable. Sometimes stable could mean to slow to react. Kinda like having your HH Sensitivity to high, you can't get the tail to spin fast and you have to fight it to change direction but you have excellant heading hold.

So does the new flybar make it more stable and slow down the cyclic?

jd
soneebee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 09:43 PM
  #1625
corona007
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chino, CA
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official T-rex 450 XL SE Thread

Soneebee, I dont know if this is out there but instead of doing all the mechanical tuning. Have you tryed using the TX programing (EXPO) I change mine all the time depending on the wind and stuff, But it works great to slow or speed up my cyclonic control. Hmmm just a thought!
Lou
corona007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:00 AM.