Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
Reload this Page >

A couple of questions

Community
Search
Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

A couple of questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2007, 11:16 AM
ksechler

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A couple of questions

I am pretty new to the whole electric scene. I have a TREX 450 SE with the Align 430 motor, 35a esc, and TP 2200mah battery. I don't remember the battery rating but it is greater than 20C. So I'm wondering, how hot is normal for a battery, speed controller and motor to get. Right now with the mild temperatures (50-60F) and a "mild" flight profile (hover, figure 8's, etc) the battery is warm to the touch. The motor is hot to touch as is the speed control but not hot enough to burn. When my skill level increases, I anticipate using more throttle and creating more heat. So I thought it might be good to know what's normal.

Second, this is a 401 gyro/tail setup question. First, my TREX pivots with the tail pitch slider in the center. In order to get hands free flight the slider must be set noticably to the right of center. This, then limits travel and gives me less than stellar rotation. Is there some adjustment I am missing? Second, I have noticed that the first 1/2 to 3/4 of the (servo/pitch) travel responds quickly but then it creeps through the remainder with the tx stick hard right or left. This only happens with the gyro connected. Why? Last, in order to get reasonable response from my tail, I had to put a lot of exponential in. Is it normal to use expo. on the tail? I am using a 401 with a 9650 digital servo. The radia is a Futaba 7 CAP.
Old 03-28-2007, 12:03 PM
blacksheep1998

Default RE: A couple of questions