Tachometer Readings Post your tachometer readings for your motor in here or ask others what they are getting out of their motor/prop combos!

ASP/Magnum .15 Blue Head

Reply
Old 09-06-2012, 07:16 AM
  #1
aspeed
Thread Starter
 
aspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ruthven, ON, CANADA
Posts: 2,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default ASP/Magnum .15 Blue Head

ASP .15, no muffler, 7-5" MA G3 prop, 10% nitro 17,600 rpm.
aspeed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 04:42 PM
  #2
aspeed
Thread Starter
 
aspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ruthven, ON, CANADA
Posts: 2,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

OK I put a slash in the crank like the car guys do, and radiused the rod a bit, and it goes 18,200 rpm. I spent a couple of days making some Turbo heads and put one on this motor. 20,500 rpm. I blew the plug, but shaved a bit off the combustion chamber and added another .005" shim, so hopefully that will stop. BUT over 2,000 rpm extra makes me happy. I made one for my AP .09 and .15 too. Now this is my best motor on this prop, equalling the $250 Fora. I am sure it will win out on the toothpick props though.
aspeed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 05:00 AM
  #3
eroc144
 
eroc144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Downingtown, PA
Posts: 629
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Ok I put a slash in the crank like the car guys do.
Got any pix? How hard / what tools did you use?

EG
eroc144 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 07:33 AM
  #4
aspeed
Thread Starter
 
aspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ruthven, ON, CANADA
Posts: 2,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I just used a dremel tool. I didn't make a very big slash because the crank is pretty hard and the stone was wearing fast. Probably a good idea to put a piece of fuel tubing over the crankpin so it doesn't get nicked, and steady the dremel with on finger resting on the crank so it doesn't slip. I think the next time I will make two slashes centred on the crank at about 20 degrees and flared out like my Fora .049 is. Those guys seem to know what they are doing more so than the car guys IMHO at least for WOT applications. I think the FAI Speed motors have something similar too. I think the radius on the rod made more difference than the slash though, it removes mass and lets the fuel go by easier. I hardly put more than a .015" rad on and polished it with just 600 sandpaper. I will get a pic. when the wife gets back and after I go flying. She will be gone for three weeks with the camera on Monday so I better not forget. edit. Jeez, I charged up the radios and two planes. both on channel 54, and they were the wrong radios. I have three on 54 and one was Airtronics. Senior moment, and no flying today. The first pic is the Fora .049 turbo cut. The ASP .15 head and the OS LA .15 ar pretty much interchangeable, but the ASP/Magnum head seems to make a bigger change. Likely because of the bigger ports and ball bearings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	turbo head 001.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	1.40 MB
ID:	1925686   Click image for larger version

Name:	turbo head 002.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	1.46 MB
ID:	1925687   Click image for larger version

Name:	turbo head 003.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	1.32 MB
ID:	1925688   Click image for larger version

Name:	turbo head 004.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	1.49 MB
ID:	1925689  

Last edited by aspeed; 09-28-2013 at 01:34 PM.
aspeed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 01:29 PM
  #5
aspeed
Thread Starter
 
aspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ruthven, ON, CANADA
Posts: 2,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I made the cutter from an old chipped 7/16th inch endmill and ground a radius the end. It is good for .07 to maybe a .40 size combustion chamber. The old Hardinge turret lathe has 8 turret positions and 8 stops. It is older than me. 1952. The last pic. is the first operation. I made14 blanks with the turbo thread prepared and a few different diameters for some .07 to .15 motors I wanted to try. There is a .500" step for holding in the collet to make the second operation. Henry Nelson used to sell blanks like that for his plugs. It seemed like a good idea to me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	setup for turbo head 001.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	1.39 MB
ID:	1925690   Click image for larger version

Name:	setup for turbo head 002.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	1.70 MB
ID:	1925691   Click image for larger version

Name:	setup for turbo head 003.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	1.68 MB
ID:	1925692   Click image for larger version

Name:	setup for turbo head 004.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	1.24 MB
ID:	1925693  
aspeed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:08 AM.