Tachometer Readings Post your tachometer readings for your motor in here or ask others what they are getting out of their motor/prop combos!

Zeroing a tachometer

Reply
Old 04-22-2007, 10:40 AM
  #1
Tinhead999
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: .cumbria, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Zeroing a tachometer

Hello all,

forgive me if this question has been asked and answered before but I've searched and cannot find an answer.

Before use, should you be able to zero a GloBee Tachometer. My logic says not, but I have been informed it should read zero before use.

Thank you in advance for any assistance.

Tinhead999 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 01:40 PM
  #2
P-40 DRIVER
 
P-40 DRIVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 1,623
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zeroing a tachometer

stick it up to a light bulb, should read 3600 rpm if its functioning correctly.
P-40 DRIVER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 01:50 PM
  #3
Dr1Driver
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 3,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zeroing a tachometer

Point it at a light bulb. It should read 3600 in the two-blade mode and 2400 in the three-blade mode.

Dr.1
Dr1Driver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 01:50 PM
  #4
Tinhead999
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: .cumbria, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zeroing a tachometer

Thanks for the reply P-40. It seem to be working fine, and reduces accordingly when I change the number of blades. My tacho always seems to have about 3000 showing on the display when not in use. I put this down to 'background noise' but someone informed me that it should read zero when not in use. I didn't think it should but they seem to think so. I'm just a little concerned that the unit may not be working properly if indeed it should be reading zero when not in use.
Tinhead999 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 03:52 PM
  #5
gkamysz
 
gkamysz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 3,397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zeroing a tachometer

3600 RPM on a tach = 60 Hz Mains.
3000 RPM = 50 Hz Mains.

The US uses 110V 60Hz for common household appliances. Other parts of the world sometimes use other voltages and frequencies.
gkamysz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:17 PM.