Team Associated - Monster GT Discuss all things AE MGT right here!

Monster GT Revival

Old 04-01-2018, 08:08 AM
hilifemt

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Monster GT Revival

Hey! Its been a long time since I been here. I haven't touched RC's for about the last 10 years, but I recently bought an Axial crawler. It's got my stoke level for RC's back and now I want to rebuild my MGT. It's still in great shape with tons of spares for heavy bashing. The engine is toast and I want to convert it to brushless. I'm open to suggestions but I want to keep it relatively cheap, and I want it fast, but not stupid fast. I found a motor mount to buy with the use of the original tranny but I may go the center diff route if the tranny doesn't hold up. What kv motor and what amp esc would be ideal for this conversion? I was thinking running 3-4s lipo max, but I'm not experienced with brushless at all. What I do know is I can't wait to get this beast back up and running. Here's a video from the good ol' days of loud, 2 stroke smelling nitro. I really had a blast with this thing and it took a beating.

and here's a video of my crawler from yesterday

Old 04-14-2018, 11:25 AM
hilifemt

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

I have received everything for the conversion except for the center diff mount which should be here soon, hopefully. I went with a Kyosho center diff with a 46 tooth spur which has the same size teeth/pitch as my 46 tooth MGT spur. I thought that was 32p but the 2 32p pinions I ordered don't mesh up right with the spur gear. I'm looking for a 16 tooth pinion with 5mm bore. My closest hobby shop is about 2 hours away so I want to make this next order right, hahaha. What pinions do I need and what gearing can you suggest. I knew my gearing well with the transmission but not certain with a center diff. Any help would be great. Thanks
Old 04-21-2018, 09:56 AM
hilifemt

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings