Team Associated - Monster GT Discuss all things AE MGT right here!

Monster GT anyone have one?

Old 02-09-2008, 04:55 PM
  #8351
scottywilkes
 
scottywilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: launceston, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,799
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

its a MGT8.0, the spur gear brace is stock
scottywilkes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 03:04 AM
  #8352
Evader ---> MGT
 
Evader ---> MGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 2,016
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

DUH!

But it's shiny! Did you anodize it or something???
Evader ---> MGT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 03:10 AM
  #8353
scottywilkes
 
scottywilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: launceston, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,799
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

ge got all his alloy parts polished at a polishing shop
scottywilkes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 03:54 AM
  #8354
Evader ---> MGT
 
Evader ---> MGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 2,016
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Possibly, but most of his alloy parts are aftermarket. Seems like a waste to go to a shop... IDK[]
Evader ---> MGT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 06:53 AM
  #8355
scottywilkes
 
scottywilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: launceston, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,799
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

its not possibly, he did, if u go into the 8.0 thread he states it lol, he wanted more "shine" HAHA
scottywilkes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 10:28 PM
  #8356
pmauceri
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: plymouth meeting, PA
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

hey guys what if i use mixed gas instead of useing nitro gas in my mgt
pmauceri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 10:38 PM
  #8357
hilifemt
 
hilifemt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 689
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

can you explain this mixed gas? I use a pure methanol/oil mix, no nitro. it's fairly cheap if you looking for the less expensive alternative. These engines require methanol as the base fuel ingredient. Nitro will definitely increase performance, but isnt necessary. Ive never experimented with any other fuel, but I dont think gasoline will not work, or any other fuel that Im aware of, without some serious modifications
hilifemt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 11:30 PM
  #8358
Snaut Rocket
 
Snaut Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Merced, CA
Posts: 3,304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: hilifemt

can you explain this mixed gas? I use a pure methanol/oil mix, no nitro. it's fairly cheap if you looking for the less expensive alternative. These engines require methanol as the base fuel ingredient. Nitro will definitely increase performance, but isnt necessary. Ive never experimented with any other fuel, but I dont think gasoline will not work, or any other fuel that Im aware of, without some serious modifications
Really you use methanol and no nitro. Were can you buy just pure methanol at. And what is your solution ratio?
Snaut Rocket is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 11:41 PM
  #8359
hilifemt
 
hilifemt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 689
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Snaut Rocket


Quote:
ORIGINAL: hilifemt

can you explain this mixed gas? I use a pure methanol/oil mix, no nitro. it's fairly cheap if you looking for the less expensive alternative. These engines require methanol as the base fuel ingredient. Nitro will definitely increase performance, but isnt necessary. Ive never experimented with any other fuel, but I dont think gasoline will not work, or any other fuel that Im aware of, without some serious modifications
Really you use methanol and no nitro. Were can you buy just pure methanol at. And what is your solution ratio?
http://www.ultimaterc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=87121
Snauty, here is a thread on the MGT forum that explains my experiment with fuel mixing. 0% nitro. Methanol is fairly easy to get. and the oil I get is top grade stuff from the dirt bike shop. It's all in the thread. If you don't mind a very slight drop in performance, and have decent tuning abilities(nitro makes tuning easier) this mix is awesome!

here's my latest video running this methanol mix, 0% nitro
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1CT-7ygFhT4

btw, since the thread posted, I have dropped to a 88%methanol, 12% oil mix. and I like it alot. I will stick to this mix. I just tore my engine apart last night(2 gallons old) and everything was very clean and well coated with oil. I Tore it apart to port it, not because I had a prolbem, just so you know
hilifemt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 05:34 PM
  #8360
squidster
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: oviedo, FL
Posts: 69
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

i am saving to get a mgt but, i want to put a bigger engine in it eventualy and i was wonding if the axial .32 will just drop in or will i have to do some mods?
squidster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 06:51 PM
  #8361
docphysics
 
docphysics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 1,785
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

just get an MGT 8.0 then.
docphysics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 10:02 PM
  #8362
squidster
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: oviedo, FL
Posts: 69
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

that hop up wouldnt be for a while so, i just want to get the 4.60 so i have one.
i wont put a new engine in it until i do some other mods/ hop ups
squidster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 10:12 PM
  #8363
Snaut Rocket
 
Snaut Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Merced, CA
Posts: 3,304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

just get the 8.0.
ALready has alot hop ups. Metal spur all metal tranny. new radio.
Snaut Rocket is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 10:15 PM
  #8364
hilifemt
 
hilifemt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 689
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

I agree with snauty and doc, unless money is an issue, get the 8.0
hilifemt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 10:34 PM
  #8365
squidster
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: oviedo, FL
Posts: 69
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

how much more is it?
squidster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:17 PM
  #8366
ferrariowner123
 
ferrariowner123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: sammamish , WA
Posts: 992
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

hey guys is this servo Good? i know it has 198 oz of torque but im asking if the quality is good. http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...0&I=LXNRT1&P=K
i really like it, its in my price range and way over my expectations on torque. Tell me What you think.

Thanks
ferrariowner123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 01:22 PM
  #8367
Snaut Rocket
 
Snaut Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Merced, CA
Posts: 3,304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ferrariowner123

hey guys is this servo Good? i know it has 198 oz of torque but im asking if the quality is good. http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...0&I=LXNRT1&P=K
i really like it, its in my price range and way over my expectations on torque. Tell me What you think.

Thanks
Its digital so its going to run your battery down.
And thats a killer deal but I had some bad exp with hobbico.
try the hitec mg servo, or one of those. Suppose to be a really good bang for the buck
Snaut Rocket is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 04:59 PM
  #8368
docphysics
 
docphysics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 1,785
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Snaut Rocket


Its digital so its going to run your battery down.
Huh? [sm=confused.gif] Don't all servos run your battery down?
docphysics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 11:34 AM
  #8369
BuzzBomber
 
BuzzBomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 3,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Digital servos do typically eat a LOT more power than analog servos; IIRC it's because they exert full torque with every movement, part of the reason they have superior holding power. Ask the heli guys for more info--I know they're more common in that application.
BuzzBomber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 02:18 PM
  #8370
Snaut Rocket
 
Snaut Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Merced, CA
Posts: 3,304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

I got the ace digital servo that has over 200 oz of torq. But with that I run a 2700 mah AA pack thats last like 3 hours
Snaut Rocket is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 12:06 AM
  #8371
duckedup
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,682
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

I ran the Airtronics 94358 (200oz/.10tt/digital) with a 1600mah pack and never had any issues.. I didn't usually run for more than 1-1.5 hours at a time though...
duckedup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 01:06 AM
  #8372
ferrariowner123
 
ferrariowner123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: sammamish , WA
Posts: 992
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

i have a 1600 MAH pack im not worried about the battery life cause i could just charge it. what im asking is hobbico a brand to be trusted? i never had experince with hobbico servos so that why im asking.
ferrariowner123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 09:52 AM
  #8373
BuzzBomber
 
BuzzBomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 3,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

I don't imagine you'd have to worry much about battery life on an average bashing day with just a digital steering servo and a 1600mah battery, but if you were running ALL digitals and/or still using the alkaline battery box, then you'd have some issues.

Ferrari, FWIW, a couple guys in my club use Hobbico servos in their airplanes, and I haven't heard any complaints about those. I know that Futaba manufactures the Tower brand radio gear; since they're all part of the great planes family, I would not be surprised if Futaba makes the Hobbico brand radio components as well. I don't know one way or another, it's just a hunch.
BuzzBomber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 02:42 PM
  #8374
hpi firestorm
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: streetsboro, OH
Posts: 36
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

what size hex does the mgt have stock
hpi firestorm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 02:44 PM
  #8375
hilifemt
 
hilifemt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 689
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

14mm
hilifemt is offline  
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:03 PM.