Team Associated - Monster GT Discuss all things AE MGT right here!

Monster GT anyone have one?

Reply
Old 05-15-2008, 04:53 AM
  #8651
scottywilkes
 
scottywilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: launceston, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,799
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

its a alot smoother sound, u dont get that brap brap sound from the stock pipe, it also is alot quieter, which is good.

Also u get a rather good increase in power
scottywilkes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 06:17 PM
  #8652
ferrariowner123
 
ferrariowner123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: sammamish , WA
Posts: 992
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Quote:
Dang what a day....... I stripped all but 6 teeth off 2nd gear...Everything else looks great but 2nd looks like a bearing now. Does anyone know if there are metal gears to replace them both? All the other gears are metal but 1st and 2nd are plastic. Any suggestions??
i believe the new MGT 8.0 has first and second speed metal gears, s oyou could try getting a hold of just those gears but that truck is pretty new and specific parts are hard to find so your best it just getting a stock plastic 2nd speed gear unless you wanna drop $125 bucks on the 8.0 tranny.
ferrariowner123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 07:52 PM
  #8653
Hardin Valley Magic
 
Hardin Valley Magic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 485
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Thanks, all I could find was a set of plastics for about 15-16 dollars. As for the whole tranny the 8.0 is cheaper than the 4.6 go figure. At least through tower..But still well over $100..
Hardin Valley Magic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 10:33 PM
  #8654
Snaut Rocket
 
Snaut Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Merced, CA
Posts: 3,304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Is that common problem stripping 1sty and 2nd gears.
Dont here much of that
Snaut Rocket is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 10:41 PM
  #8655
Elite_Tux487
 
Elite_Tux487's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lisbon/Groton, CT
Posts: 617
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

I had my mgt for about a year now only about 3 gallons through it, but I have had no signs of any gears stripping anywhere. Although added the FOC kit almost immediately, I dunno if that makes a difference or not.
Elite_Tux487 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 12:48 AM
  #8656
Dirty South Racing
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rural Retreat, VA
Posts: 48
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: scottywilkes

its a alot smoother sound, u dont get that brap brap sound from the stock pipe, it also is alot quieter, which is good.

Also u get a rather good increase in power
Thanks, hope it's not to quiet.
Dirty South Racing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 04:20 PM
  #8657
Hardin Valley Magic
 
Hardin Valley Magic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 485
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

A year and 3 gallons??? LOL!!! I must be an overachiever...A gallon in 2 1/2 weeks.. It was kinda strange All gears are flawless but 2nd was trashed.. It probably do to running on road I guess. No signs of problems till I ran it on road. Could that be it????
Hardin Valley Magic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 07:30 PM
  #8658
scottywilkes
 
scottywilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: launceston, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,799
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

ive mutilated my tranny many a time, about 3 2 speed shafts, 1 OWB, 3 2 speed shaft pins, 6 2 speed gears HEHE, its all in good fun, im very hard on my transmission though, none of t his easy driving, its on or off, they get a beating when your racing
scottywilkes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 09:38 PM
  #8659
Elite_Tux487
 
Elite_Tux487's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lisbon/Groton, CT
Posts: 617
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Well I've had many expensive hobbies in the past year, plus college life interferes and being a poor college student doesn't help either. But now that I've graduated I should have lots of time to burn through fuel....until I get a job at least.
Elite_Tux487 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 11:22 PM
  #8660
KRO
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Genoa, IL
Posts: 2,633
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Quote:
A year and 3 gallons??? LOL!!! I must be an overachiever...A gallon in 2 1/2 weeks.. It was kinda strange All gears are flawless but 2nd was trashed.. It probably do to running on road I guess. No signs of problems till I ran it on road. Could that be it????
I have burned a gallon in 1 day before .....

Try loosening the slipper a little more , maybe adjust the 2 speed so 2nd gear kicks in a little earlier and dosent bang it in so hard .
KRO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 12:00 PM
  #8661
Hardin Valley Magic
 
Hardin Valley Magic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 485
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Thanks for the tips!!! I loosen it and change the timimg for changing.. I got my parts this a.m. so till to put it together!!!
Hardin Valley Magic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 07:35 AM
  #8662
scottywilkes
 
scottywilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: launceston, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,799
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

well race day was a shambles today, installed my new Sportwerks 9mm carby on my ported and polished SH28 P6 6 port, well to cut thigs short, snapped a 2 speed shaft and pin, replaced in 10 minutes, got to final, totally stripped 2nd speed gear in 1st lap AGAIN!!!!!!!, im sick of this stupid trasmission
scottywilkes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 08:04 AM
  #8663
Snaut Rocket
 
Snaut Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Merced, CA
Posts: 3,304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Time to get your self a truggy scotty. No tranny at all.
Or if all fails a Rock crawler
Snaut Rocket is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 07:37 AM
  #8664
scottywilkes
 
scottywilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: launceston, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,799
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

BAH, cant be buggered getting anything else for the time being, ive got 4 motors to blow in the MGT before LOL.

GEEZ, i just wish the dam tranny was reliable, its only the 2nd speed gear thats really peeving me off, other than that the truck is great. [:@]
scottywilkes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 08:32 AM
  #8665
Evader ---> MGT
 
Evader ---> MGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 2,016
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Dude, I 110% feel ya. I HATE this tranny!!!

Absolutely ruins the truck... And I'm not dropping $100 to buy a new tranny from the 8.0. Nope...
Evader ---> MGT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 09:23 AM
  #8666
MGTmadman
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Redford, MI
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Stripping transmission gears eh? this begs the question of what the heck are you doing to these trucks to strip tranny gears? I have had my 4.60 for three years now and not once have I ripped a gear in the transmission, I have broken the 2nd speed shaft pins and replaced them with spring steel pins the first year I had it, they have not broken after two years and not once have I stripped a gear in the transmission, and they are still the original plastic/composite gears. I have rebuilt the diffs do to excessive wear, I have replaced cvd pins, broken A-arms, and busted shocks, but I have never had to replace a gear in the transmission. So the question remains, what were you doing with the truck to cause transmission gear failure?

MGTmadman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 06:33 PM
  #8667
Hardin Valley Magic
 
Hardin Valley Magic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 485
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

I think I narrowed the gear problem to jump on and off curbs on asphalt... Didn't have a single problem till I did that. So now it is for dirt ONLY..lol.. I have a brushless Evader converted over to run strictly on road.
I know this is a bit off the MGT thread but I have this truck I got today it is for my 10 yr old son. Traded in the rest of our airplane stuff for. It is a T-Maxx 3.3.. It has rpm arms, and, this is funny, Monster GT wheels and tires..lol..So I guess it kinda goes here. I am just a proud dad showing his truck off. I did include it in with one of the pics...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf10003.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	135.1 KB
ID:	952895   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dy77781.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	166.9 KB
ID:	952896   Click image for larger version

Name:	Di11130.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	158.4 KB
ID:	952897   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cw63035.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	153.9 KB
ID:	952898  
Hardin Valley Magic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 07:53 AM
  #8668
scottywilkes
 
scottywilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: launceston, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,799
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

what do i do, i race, its a 4.6 tranny with FOC installed. Im running a SH28 prospec 6 port, ported and polished with a sportwerks 9mm carby, 1:1 clutch springs with nova alloy clutch shoes, so my tranny takes a beating lol. So add another 2 speed shaft, pin and 2 speed gear to the list LOL, im getting quite a collection :P
scottywilkes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 10:29 PM
  #8669
Elite_Tux487
 
Elite_Tux487's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lisbon/Groton, CT
Posts: 617
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

I bent the high speed mixture needle, will any .28 sized needle work is does it specifically have to be the AE 4.6 needle?
Elite_Tux487 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 06:38 AM
  #8670
scottywilkes
 
scottywilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: launceston, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,799
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

AE28/TTR28, different needles are different lengths, thicknesses etc
scottywilkes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 09:40 AM
  #8671
BuzzBomber
 
BuzzBomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 3,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Man, that T-Maxx looks tiny next to the MGT!

I lowered and softened my suspension a bit, put the Talon premounts and Desert Rat body back on my MGT and took it over to Dirtrunners(local track) on Memorial Day for some track time. I was trying to finish breaking in my new RC8, but the throttle servo crapped out, so the buggy went back in the car and out came the MGT. Anyway, driving the two cars back to back was funny. The RC8 carves like a scalpel, the MGT, well, more like a butterknife, maybe even an axe. I found the only way to get the MGT around the track's tight corners was to "back it in" by braking and sliding the rear, then steering around the apex onto the straight by sliding the rear with throttle. Is this the same technique you MGT racers use, or do you guys actually try to work with cornering under traction?
BuzzBomber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 09:59 AM
  #8672
John82601
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Casper, WY
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

On our clubs big track you can actually drive around the corners with an MGT. Our LHS's track is more 1/10 scale so there's lots of braking and power sliding going on to get around the corners. Not the fastest but definitely fun.
John82601 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 10:50 AM
  #8673
Elite_Tux487
 
Elite_Tux487's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lisbon/Groton, CT
Posts: 617
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

So an lrp needle will fit in the stock motor correct?
Elite_Tux487 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 04:41 PM
  #8674
scottywilkes
 
scottywilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: launceston, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,799
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

depends, if the needle is identicle to yours, aka same taper on the needle, same thread, length, width, etc then yes. But like i said, the only ones that i know will work are for the AE28/TTR28, same motor as thunder tiger make the motors
scottywilkes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 09:17 PM
  #8675
R/C BASHER
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: springfeild, IL
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monster GT anyone have one?

Sup all..

I just finished my third tank on my new mgt. I cant beleive how easy this motor is to tune. Two short bursts with my drill and she fired right up for the first time. After 3 tanks its only died once and im still on the original glowplug.

Like most stock MT's It doe's need some upgrades, like a steering servo, receiver battery pack. Those are going to be my first upgrades anyway..Also, i think the turn radius is terrible. To completely turn around my truck needs almost 2 carlengths of room. Without buying any hopup parts, are there any tweaks i can do to correct this? Thanks....
R/C BASHER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:01 AM.