Team RCU - Don Szczur Ask your questions directly to Don Szczur, proffesional pattern pilot

Downline throttle mix question

Reply
Old 11-17-2005, 04:58 AM
  #1
stek79
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: , ITALY
Posts: 625
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Downline throttle mix question

Hello Don,
how are you?

While I'm building my new pattern, I'm thinking about the trimming process, in particular the mix you suggest to have a straight power off down line.

Given that the mix is active in the lower range of throttle stick, can the mix give unwanted effects during other manouvers other then the vertical dive? For example, during the second half of a loop, when you cut the throttle: here, the mix will jump in giving unwanted pitch moment...

Thank you for your alwais prompt replies, I really appreciate your kindness.
stek79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 02:56 PM
  #2
krayzc-RCU
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Downline throttle mix question

on board
krayzc-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 12:45 AM
  #3
Don Szczur
 
Don Szczur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,928
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Downline throttle mix question

Yes, but here is the detail. It comes in at three clicks above idle. You never feel it except on a downline with throttle all the way off and you will notice a nice straight down line with little effort. Normally the surface only moves about 1/16 inch or less. The only other time it is noticeable is if you are full throttle and cut it really fast. If you fly throttle managment throughout manevers its virtually no adverse effect. The plane feels locked in during down lines, after hammer heads, etc. You never feel it any other time.

Don
Don Szczur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 12:46 AM
  #4
Don Szczur
 
Don Szczur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,928
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Downline throttle mix question

Clarify. The curve comes in at three clicks. So the mix really does not come in fully until the throttle is all the way down.
Don Szczur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 04:24 AM
  #5
stek79
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: , ITALY
Posts: 625
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Downline throttle mix question

Ok Don,
I got the point!

As usual you are always available for good informations... I'm very happy that you are here on RCU!

Until later!
stek79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 04:28 AM
  #6
stek79
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: , ITALY
Posts: 625
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Downline throttle mix question

Don,
if I can I ask you another question, I've posted it to pattern forum also.

I use two servos in the stabs in my new pattern, as you in your Brio.

I'm concerned about the long servo leads (42 inches) and the fact that RX aerial will be parallel to them (aerial outside of the fuse)... do you use some filters such as toroid beads or not? How do you face that problem?

A BIG THANKS
stek79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 11:22 PM
  #7
Don Szczur
 
Don Szczur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,928
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Downline throttle mix question

Not sure which radio you are using. I've flown the JR 9303 and 10X with no beads. I just use the JR Heavy duty Gold extensions straight back to the elevators. I've had not radio issues with this setup. It works great and the best advantage is no elevator trim changes with temperature variations between morning and hot noon time, and cool evening.

Don
Don Szczur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 04:56 AM
  #8
stek79
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: , ITALY
Posts: 625
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Downline throttle mix question

Don,

I'm using Futaba PCM, so I should be good with it.

Last thing: my RX aerial will end up pretty close to the extensions, say about 2 inches, sinche I have taped the extensions on the side of the fuse, while the aerial will be taped on the top (outside).

More or less how much distance there is in your setup?

I'm using the same extension leads as you, the JR heavy duty one.
stek79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 05:04 AM
  #9
stek79
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: , ITALY
Posts: 625
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Downline throttle mix question

I forgot one thing: is your aerial parallel to the extensions?



As usual Don, thank you very much for your help.
stek79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 09:38 AM
  #10
Don Szczur
 
Don Szczur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,928
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Downline throttle mix question

Yes, it was inserted into the pre-existing tube. Roughtly parallell to the servo extensions. I am on 72 Mhz.
Don Szczur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:39 AM.