Notices

should i use the ttr 50?

Old 12-01-2006, 12:18 AM
the dog

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default should i use the ttr 50?

i just bought a titan off a guy that has never been started, or finished for that matter and it has the ttr 50 in it. my question is seeing how i am a beginner do i need a better engine to start with if im not doing 3d? or should i just use this thing up?
Old 12-01-2006, 03:01 AM
Motions

Default RE: should i use the ttr 50?

Definately stick with the TT50 especially if your just learning. If it's brand new, it should last quite a while as long as you keep it well tuned.
Old 12-01-2006, 04:18 AM
jez33

its funny as barracuda and i donnt agree totally on this front as i dont think hes had much luck with tt engines.lol....( no offense mate, )

but we do agree on the fact that the tt engines are fussier to tune then os engines which for a beginner might present a few more challengers but if its not run in yet then please make sure you give it lots of time because they take maybe a little longer to run in then is stated.make sure also that you keep it a little richer while running in ofcause then the engine will be fine..
i find though that my tt engines prefer cheaper fuel. i mean the type without thermal reducers which are common in helicopter fuel but i run all my helis on the none thermal reducing fuel and have done for years with no problems..

there are though a few more positives for the os engine too.. its more powerful,easier to tune, less fussy which type of fuel and glo plug it uses but ofcause its more expensive.

i fly today a number of helis which use tt ,os , webbra or rossi and a few more type engines in the past and all work very well in my assortment.mind you i do remember the 1st tt heli engine the tt36 but this engine was terrible.it had some terrible rich spots in the carb and it spat fuel out faster then it drank it,lol...but i got it to fly for a year on my heli till the conrod snapped when a bearing broke..