Raptor 30 Main Rotor Blades

Reply
Old 05-07-2008, 11:48 AM
  #1
Resident Dawg
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lehigh Acres, FL
Posts: 116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Raptor 30 Main Rotor Blades

I recently picked up a 30. I noticed the main rotor blades have a pastic coating that is loosely fit. Appears like it needs to be heat shrunk. is this common, do i need to apply heat to shrink the plastic, or remove it all together?
Resident Dawg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 01:20 PM
  #2
badazzbusa
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mechanicsville, VA
Posts: 919
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Raptor 30 Main Rotor Blades

Yes, it is a heat shrink covering and it needs to be tight. Just like airplane covering it will loosen over time and need to be heated up. Do not remove it, the wood will soak up all the oil from the exhaust and weaken it and cause it to fail. Some people have removed the covering and treated the wood with a sealent and had good success. After a while the covering will split on the ends and need to be replaced or removed and treat the wood. You will need to rebalance the blades if you treat them. You can just get some carbon or glass blades and save yourself the headache of fooling with the covering.
badazzbusa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 01:31 PM
  #3
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Raptor 30 Main Rotor Blades

It makes a disconcerting (but harmless) sound when the covering is loose in flight, I thought something was coming apart catostrophically the first time I heard it.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 07:22 AM
  #4
Resident Dawg
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lehigh Acres, FL
Posts: 116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Raptor 30 Main Rotor Blades

That is an easy fix.

I messed up yesterday at my LHS and picked up 600MM blades instead of 550MM.

Can I use the 600's on my Raptor 30???? Or will that destroy or cause problems?
Resident Dawg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 07:44 AM
  #5
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Raptor 30 Main Rotor Blades

The motor will have a hard time with those blades and its not geared for it, and with anything more than a hover you risk hitting the tail blades.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 07:52 AM
  #6
Resident Dawg
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lehigh Acres, FL
Posts: 116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Raptor 30 Main Rotor Blades

So in other words....NO JOY....
Resident Dawg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 08:17 AM
  #7
elecfly
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Johannesburg, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 129
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Raptor 30 Main Rotor Blades


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Resident Dawg

That is an easy fix.

I messed up yesterday at my LHS and picked up 600MM blades instead of 550MM.

Can I use the 600's on my Raptor 30???? Or will that destroy or cause problems?
go swop them for 550's
elecfly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:10 PM.