Notices

First 50 Heli

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2009, 07:16 PM
mydartswinger

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First 50 Heli

Good evening fellow Raptor pilots.

I've been dabbling with helicopters for about 2 years, starting with co-axials and moving up to motor driven tail CP's and FP's (having little luck), then working on the simulator before moving into a Blade 400. I started getting decent hovering with the 400, but my real progress didn't start until I started flying a Hirobo Shuttle ZXX 30 size. About 2 weeks ago, I finally started with forward flight. I then realized that the Shuttle wasn't going to get me much further than forward/backward/sideways flight, and began looking at 50 and 90 size helis to step up to. Fast forward to this morning, and I find an add on another forum for a Raptor 50 V2 for sale about an hour and a half drive from me. I contacted the seller, a deal was struck, and I was on my way to pick her up.

Here's her specs:
[ul][*] 1- Raptor 50 V.2 Kit [*] 1- Set of Custom Vinly Graphics for Canopy & Tail Feathers[*] 1- Metal upgrade Swashplate[*] 1- Rotor Hub w/Button 50 SE[*] 1- Upgrade red Dampers[*] 1- 600mm carbon fiber Thunder Tiger blades[*] 1- Autorotation Tail Drive Gear[*] 1- Set of KBDD Tail Blades[*] 1- New 1800 Mah Sub C Battery[*] 3- JR DS 811 servos[*] 1- JR DS 8311 servo[*] 1- Futaba 401 and 9254 Gyro Combo[*] 1- JR Heavy Duty Power Switch[*] 1- OS Max SX 50 Engine[*] 1- Raptor upgrade Muffler[*] 1- Metal Stab. Arm set Fly bar[*] 1- White Light Weight Paddle[*] 1- Remote glow Adapter[*] 1- carbon fiber frame stiffener # PV0326[*] 1- Set of Skid Stops[*] 1- Volt Watch on Board Battery Monitor[*] 1- Push / Pull Elevator upgrade
[/ul]

For my first few flights, I'll probably throw on a set of wood blades to get comfortable with her before I fly her with the carbons. I'll probably also replace the DS811 servos with DS8311 servos.

Any advice for setup changes? Thanks in advance guys.
Old 03-01-2009, 07:58 PM