Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

worldtex covering????

Reply
Old 08-19-2003, 04:36 PM
  #1
rodonets
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Regina, SK, CANADA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default worldtex covering????

i need some advice on covering a balsa usa 1/4 cub i want to use a fabric covering to cover the model and after much research i am leaning toward using worldtex covering that is pre-painted. as i understand all i have to do is iron it down the same way you iron down film covering. after this you have to clear coat it. any sugestions on which products to use that would work well with the world tex covering, also can anyone tell me how many rolls i am going to need.
rodonets is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 06:15 PM
  #2
BigBird1
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 796
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default worldtex covering????

Depends on which way you want to cover the wings...
Lengthwise...4 rolls
If you split it with the covering running from leading edge to trailing edge on two sections, 1 1/2 rolls if I remember right.

Another two rolls for the fuse and tail group if you are careful and save scraps...

I loved the WorldTex....just make sure that you have enough overlap at the seams and be careful with the heat gun on the seams or they will pull loose when shrinking in that area..

I didn't put on a clear coat but if the fuel stains it rub with WD40 and wash with soap and water.

Balsa USA has the long rolls...in Cub Yellow...
BigBird1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 07:45 PM
  #3
Rodney
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,754
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default worldtex covering????

Worldtex (also Colortex and Solartex are the same item) does have a grain and will shrink more in one direction than the other. Fof best results, you must have the long length of the roll of covering go in the direction of the wing span.
Rodney is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 12:50 PM
  #4
bighawg
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burgin, KY
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default worldtex covering????

I USED WORLDTEX ON 2 MODELS. ONE WAS A SMOOTHIE I DECKED OUT LIKE A SPITFIRE. BELIEVE IT OR NOT, RUSTOLEUM PAINT IS WHAT I USED TO PAINT THE SILVER UNDERSIDE AND THE CAMO PATTERN ON TOP. THE WORLDTEX ITSELF WAS OLIVE DRAB GREEN. I USED ROUNDELS MADE FROM MONOCOAT, BUT AFTER DOING THAT, I DON'T RECCOMEND IT TO ANYONE ELSE. THEY JUST WON'T STAY STUCK DOWN TO THE FABRIC. I FINISHED WITH A COAT OF CLEAR RUSTOLEUM AND THE PLANE WAS FLOWN FOR 3 YEARS WITH NO MAJOR PAINT DETERIORATION. PACTRA PAINT IS AN ALTERNATIVE. I ALSO SCRATCH BUILT AN LAZY ACE BIPLANE AND USED WORLDTEX'S ANTIQUE CLOTH COVERING. YOU CAN KINDA SEE THROUGH IT LIKE THE OLD TIMER PLANES....I WANTED TO BE ABLE TO SEE THE DETAIL OF THE "BONES"..........I JUST CLEAR-COATED IT, AGAIN USING RUSTOLEUM.........GOOD LUCK!
OH YEAH, MAKE SURE YOU THIN CA ALL OF THE SEAMS WHEN YOU ARE DONE. THIS INSURES THEY WILL NOT PEEL UP ON YOU. AND USE BALSARITE FOR FABRIC ON THE AIRFRAME BEFORE YOU START COVERING. GOOD LUCK!
bighawg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 04:52 PM
  #5
MinnFlyer
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default worldtex covering????

Bighawg, What are you yelling about?
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 05:16 PM
  #6
bighawg
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burgin, KY
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default worldtex covering????

My bad...I used all caps, didn't I? : )
bighawg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 05:22 PM
  #7
rodonets
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Regina, SK, CANADA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default auto paint

has anyone experimented with auto paint before. how were the results
rodonets is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:15 PM.