Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 11 of 11

  1. #1
    kenh3497's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rockwell, IA
    Posts
    924
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Removing Robart hinge points question

    I think I read someplace her somebody used a sharpened brass tube to remove Robart hinge points. Is this correct? I have a new/rebuilt, never flown plane and found a broken aileron hinge.

    I'm guessing cut the remaining three hinges at the joint, "drill" out the hinge halves, fill the offending hole with "something", not sure with what yet and reinstall new hinges.

    Does this sound like the way to do it?

    Thanks!!

    Ken
    Sent from my Dry-Erase-Board

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    LaPine, OR
    Posts
    511
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Removing Robart hinge points question

    If it were me, I would cutall of the hinge points. Cut them off flush, then sand smooth. Reinstall new hinge points away from the existing hinges.

  3. #3
    aussiesteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    PerthWA, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,924
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Removing Robart hinge points question

    Flaphappy is right If the wing has enough material to place the hinges in new locations.

    Some airframes only have small blocks for the hinges, if that is the case, Cut the hinges, get some brass tube or Stainless tube of the right diameter, cut some "Slots" on the end and file some "Teeth" on it so it is now like a long holesaw and run it over the existing hinge to remove it. If possible get the next size up in hinge to install (assuming the plane doesn't already have the largest size) and drill to suit those.

    If you wish to "fill" the hole with something, Epoxying in a piece of Dowel works well in most cases.
    3W, BME and DA all the way. Proven power, Proven reliability and Proven support equals much cheaper in the long term.

  4. #4
    kenh3497's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rockwell, IA
    Posts
    924
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Removing Robart hinge points question

    When I built the wing I put in smallish (1/2 X 1/2) blocks for the hinge points. I'll have to use the old holes again so I'll need to fill the holes and re-drill in the same spot. I found some hard balsa formerly used for push rods to use as filler. I don't think it will be a bad job once started. It's just the idea of cutting up a new plane for repairs[:@]

    Ken
    Sent from my Dry-Erase-Board

  5. #5
    aussiesteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    PerthWA, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,924
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Removing Robart hinge points question

    Which sized hinge points did you use?
    There are a few different sizes so you may not need to fill the holes.

    [link]http://www.robart.com/store/control-hinges[/link]
    3W, BME and DA all the way. Proven power, Proven reliability and Proven support equals much cheaper in the long term.

  6. #6
    Warbird Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hortonville, WI
    Posts
    950
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Removing Robart hinge points question

    One could drill out the hinge and glue in a wood dowel to fill in the hole then re-drill to correct size for the hinge point. There is an available drill centering jig just for those.
    Warbird Man

    I love the smell of AV gas in the morning.
    Smells like.... victory

  7. #7
    kenh3497's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rockwell, IA
    Posts
    924
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Removing Robart hinge points question

    Old points are out waiting for the glue on the plugs to dry.

    see here; http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_10...m.htm#11063350
    Sent from my Dry-Erase-Board

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Picayune, MS
    Posts
    206
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Removing Robart hinge points question

    To late for this but if the hinges were epoxied in they can be removed whole by heating the epoxy. I have used monokote irons on each side of the surface to heat the epoxy and once I used the heat gun. The heat will turn the epoxy back into a liquid.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Riva, MD
    Posts
    81
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Removing Robart hinge points question


    ORIGINAL: FLAPHappy

    If it were me, I would cutÂ*all of the hinge points. Cut them off flush, then sand smooth. Reinstall new hinge points away from the existing hinges.

    I second this. I tried all the methods I read about and didn't have much luck. Easiest way for me was to relocate the new ones. I was recovering anyway so I was able to hide the old holes.

  10. #10
    Radical Departure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Fayetteville, Arkansas AR
    Posts
    497
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Removing Robart hinge points question



    "...I'll have to use the old holes again so I'll need to fill the holes and re-drill in the same spot. "

    ORIGINAL: Warbird Man
    One could drill out the hinge and glue in a wood dowel to fill in the hole then re-drill to correct size for the hinge point. There is an available drill centering jig just for those.
    In that case what Warbird suggest will work. I've had to do this on large planes and it works just fine. One thing tho.. be careful when drilling the hinge out, when done right it should slip right out toward you when you extract the brass 'bit'. If you push too hard drilling it out you'll end up dropping the hinge into the area, (rudder, alieron, whatever), and there won't be anyway to get it out unless you remove covering... the voice of experience..


    Radical Departure..
    ..from controlled flight

  11. #11
    aussiesteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    PerthWA, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,924
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Removing Robart hinge points question


    ORIGINAL: Radical Departure


    One thing tho.. be careful when drilling the hinge out, when done right it should slip right out toward you when you extract the brass 'bit'. If you push too hard drilling it out you'll end up dropping the hinge into the area, (rudder, alieron, whatever), and there won't be anyway to get it out unless you remove covering... the voice of experience..
    Isn't that what CA is for? - when ya drop a hinge in the wing, ya put in a bit of CA after it and shake it around to stick it in the wing so it doesn't rattle around any more. (Just make sure you drop one in the other side to maintain lateral balance)
    3W, BME and DA all the way. Proven power, Proven reliability and Proven support equals much cheaper in the long term.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:10 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.