Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 24 of 24

  1. #1
    KitBuilder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    1,626
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    The darn throttle arm is directly behind the motor just a tad off to left of center. To far off from the side of the mount for a doulbe arm setup. cannot access from behind through the firewall due to tank in way. U shape rod will be to large a U shape to be effective w/out bending. I'm stuck. I dont want ot use ball links as i've have them vibrate off before which is not a good thing.
    Mike -
    I was born a pilot... 100 years to late.

  2. #2
    Live Wire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sterling , CO
    Posts
    6,050
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    You run your linkage to a arm on the side of your motor mount then back to you throttle arm, it is a relay linkage.
    Larry k
    Larry K
    Sig Brotherhood # 1 Sig Kadet Brotherhood # 4 WACO Brotherhood #34 Cub Brotherhood 14

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Edmond, OK
    Posts
    90
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    I use the Du-Bro 4 Stroke Throttle Linkages on all my 4 strokes now. They do have a ball link, but I've found them reliable. I had to bow the rod on one of my models from the firewall to the link, but it works beautifully.


  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    dickinson, TX
    Posts
    258
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    you can also rotate the carb on most magnum 4 strokes. most times this will move the arm far enough to the side to clear the tank.

  5. #5
    KitBuilder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    1,626
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    I'll look into rotating the carb.. didnt know that could be done.. I have used the dubro relay arm deal but wont work in this case. Arm is direclty behind the motor.. way to far of of line with the beam of the mount on which the secondary arm mounts.
    Mike -
    I was born a pilot... 100 years to late.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bend, OR
    Posts
    1,038
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke


    ORIGINAL: KitBuilder

    I'll look into rotating the carb.. didnt know that could be done.. I have used the dubro relay arm deal but wont work in this case. Arm is direclty behind the motor.. way to far of of line with the beam of the mount on which the secondary arm mounts.
    KitBuilder,

    I had the same problem with this engine in my Sig 4*40 but I made the Dubro relay arm work. It's late here but I'll try to get a picture of the setup in the morning and post it. It took a little figuring but I got it to work very well.
    Cheers,
    Andy
    AMA 16066

  7. #7
    KitBuilder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    1,626
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    Oldtyme.... I would appreciate the pic.. .I'm in a holding pattern on this at the moment hoping I get an epiphany on how to get this to work. I'm a bit fussy on my throttle setups liking to have finite control over the entire range.

    Mike -
    I was born a pilot... 100 years to late.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bend, OR
    Posts
    1,038
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke


    ORIGINAL: KitBuilder

    Oldtyme.... I would appreciate the pic.. .I'm in a holding pattern on this at the moment hoping I get an epiphany on how to get this to work. I'm a bit fussy on my throttle setups liking to have finite control over the entire range.

    KitBuilder............sorry for the delay.........was busier than a cat covering crap in a windstorm today........in the morning, I will take pictures and post them............again............sorry.

    Andy
    AMA 16066

  9. #9
    scale only 4 me's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Avon Lake, OH
    Posts
    8,428
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    I typically make a double dog leg push rod to a Z-bend at the carb,, then use a good ez connector at the servo.

    Basically you come out the firewall, 90 degree bend, then another 90 bend to the carb connection,, all the adjustment is at the servo. that set up has worked well for me in several airplanes. If you really need a pic I can pull the cowl off my kingfisher, I need to redo the fuel lines anyway

    good luck
    You're so smart,, you figured out how to read this!! Or maybe ya just got lucky??

  10. #10
    KitBuilder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    1,626
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    I undersand what your saying.. but I think the distance between my 90 degree bends will be to great causing a bit of flex. I;ll play with a couple options tonight and see how it goes. I dont know if Iwould trust an ez connector on anything glow due to vibration, but thats just me. I've get them all over on my electrics
    Mike -
    I was born a pilot... 100 years to late.

  11. #11
    scale only 4 me's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Avon Lake, OH
    Posts
    8,428
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    It's worked for me for years,, on several models,, the carb has almost zero strain on the wire. It's only going to bend or flex if your ATV is mis-adjusted.

    What kind of plane are we talking about here?
    You're so smart,, you figured out how to read this!! Or maybe ya just got lucky??

  12. #12
    prgonzalez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    KATY, TX
    Posts
    868
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    I have stopped using solid rods for throttle, instead, I use flex wires and I can route the link as needed to avoid obstacles like tanks ans whatever. The pic from jknox is great. I would just change the solid rod for flex cable.
    Spitfire Brotherhood #96, Ultra Sport Brotherhood #20

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bend, OR
    Posts
    1,038
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    KitBuilder,

    Photos are in progress. I had trouble with my camera and software so my wife, who is an excellent photographer took the pictures and is working on them now. I will post them shortly and if you wish you can email me at andynez@q.com and I will email them to you as well. I didn't forget you and have been frustrated at the problems I've been having this morning. My wife can also put them in a pdf if that will work as well.

    Andy
    AMA 16066

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bend, OR
    Posts
    1,038
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    OK KitBuider............here ya go!! I used the DuBro 4-stroke linkage kit and this setup works quite well.

    Regards,
    Andy
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Pn37619.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	115.4 KB 
ID:	1774736   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bz78075.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	64.2 KB 
ID:	1774737   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Xs57733.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	120.8 KB 
ID:	1774738  
    AMA 16066

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    4,974
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    I have the same engine and I used a thin piece of music wire in an antenna tube, essentially making a flex wire connection. It doesn't take any torque to operate the throttle, so the flexible connection works fine.
    No kid, I said break ground and fly into the wind!

  16. #16
    KitBuilder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    1,626
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    Thanks for the info... Oldyme.. I've always been wary of those ez-links on high vibration setups. I've got them in my electrics only at this point. I'm working through it all.... .. my arm at WOT is right against the firewall and I switched to a more flexible connection that l'll support along the way. I've got the tank in place and once this is done the construction is over and it's on to covering.

    My baby!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Xv64191.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	57.4 KB 
ID:	1775632  
    Mike -
    I was born a pilot... 100 years to late.

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bend, OR
    Posts
    1,038
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke


    ORIGINAL: KitBuilder

    Thanks for the info... Oldyme.. I've always been wary of those ez-links on high vibration setups. I've got them in my electrics only at this point. I'm working through it all.... .. my arm at WOT is right against the firewall and I switched to a more flexible connection that l'll support along the way. I've got the tank in place and once this is done the construction is over and it's on to covering.

    My baby!
    KitBuilder,

    I've been using EZ links for over 30 years and have never had a problem on any of my glow applications. I don't do electric.........real planes make noise. Is that a Balsa USA Sopwith Pup.............if so that is what I have on the shelf and I'm using the same engine on it as on the 4* that is pictured.

    Cheers,
    Andy
    AMA 16066

  18. #18
    biam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    desloge, MO
    Posts
    237
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke


    ORIGINAL: scale only 4 me

    I typically make a double dog leg push rod to a Z-bend at the carb,, then use a good ez connector at the servo.

    Basically you come out the firewall, 90 degree bend, then another 90 bend to the carb connection,, all the adjustment is at the servo. that set up has worked well for me in several airplanes. If you really need a pic I can pull the cowl off my kingfisher, I need to redo the fuel lines anyway

    good luck
    This is exactly what I do also. Have this method on a four star .40 and a super sportster, very reliable so far.[8D]

    Bill.
    It is always better to be under the gun, than in front of it!

  19. #19
    KitBuilder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    1,626
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    What size wire....and what is the length of wire between the two dog legs. it seems there would be to much bend for accurate throttle repsonse?
    Mike -
    I was born a pilot... 100 years to late.

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Capron, IL
    Posts
    3,690
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    Use throttle cable instead.  It's all I use now for the 4 strokes, you can run it around the tank, and have it come out right at the throttle. The key is to make the hole for the tube oval and only glue it at the back side of the firewall so it can flex with the throttle arm.   I tried using solid wire pushrods, but they just dont work well.

     Check out the electric to glow T-34, I have some pics in there of the setup.   
    SIG Brotherhood # 3
    Mustang Brotherhood # 6
    Corsair Brotherhood # 86
    Kadet Brotherhood # 24
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/B-17e-...18159428244374

  21. #21
    scale only 4 me's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Avon Lake, OH
    Posts
    8,428
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    ORIGINAL: KitBuilder

    What size wire....and what is the length of wire between the two dog legs. it seems there would be to much bend for accurate throttle repsonse?
    I guess it's an acquired taste like Avocados,, they look terrible and you're sure they'll taste awful when you're a kid, but after you've tried a few as an adult you can't get enough.

    I have a 1.25mm (sae??) piano wire in a sleeve made from the inner yellow nyrod, this has worked the arm of a ys120 for over 15 years on my kingifsher, just no way a cable would work where the throttle are is located. Sorry, you had your chance for me to take a picture,, it's all back together now.
    You're so smart,, you figured out how to read this!! Or maybe ya just got lucky??

  22. #22
    KitBuilder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    1,626
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    No worries on the pic.. i understand how it would look and work. I have tried U bends and other assorted things with no luck in what I wanted to accomplish which is probably my execution of the idea.
    Mike -
    I was born a pilot... 100 years to late.

  23. #23
    scale only 4 me's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Avon Lake, OH
    Posts
    8,428
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    Looking at the picture of the plane, it would seam you have a lot of fuse to work with, have you tried off setting the tank and flipping the carb around to get the arm to the left side of the engine? that typically can give you more room to work with alone

    Is the motor mounted inverted?
    You're so smart,, you figured out how to read this!! Or maybe ya just got lucky??

  24. #24

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Capron, IL
    Posts
    3,690
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Throttle pushrod on Magnum 52 4stroke

    Dont know if this helps or not, but my throttle cable setup on my T-34. Isnaked it around the tank, using a Dubro tank that sets the pug back from the front for a little more clearance.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Om33714.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	70.9 KB 
ID:	1784170  
    SIG Brotherhood # 3
    Mustang Brotherhood # 6
    Corsair Brotherhood # 86
    Kadet Brotherhood # 24
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/B-17e-...18159428244374


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:36 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.