Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

Throttle hold for electric planes

Old 11-10-2013, 05:08 AM
  #1  
mmn
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 146
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Throttle hold for electric planes

This may have been posted somewhere but I didn't see it.

Heli mode on my transmitter (JR 9503) has a preprogrammed throttle hold switch that kills the throttle and disables the stick. That feature is not available in aero mode. I thought it would be nice to have it as a safety feature for my electric planes so that once you're armed the throttle could be disabled until you're ready to fly preventing you from accidentally advancing the throttle.

The 9503 has provision for multiple throttle curves assignable to a switch. I set it up so that one position is the normal linear throttle curve and in the second position the throttle curve is all 0s, i.e. no throttle in any stick position.

I suspect this would work in any transmitter that enables multiple throttle curves.

Regards
Michael
mmn is offline  
Old 11-10-2013, 06:37 AM
  #2  
invertmast
My Feedback: (22)
 
invertmast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North Port, Fl
Posts: 7,776
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Or you could just not arm the esc until your ready to fly..
invertmast is offline  
Old 11-10-2013, 07:13 AM
  #3  
1320Fastback
Senior Member
 
1320Fastback's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern Occupied Mexico, CA
Posts: 998
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

In aero you could set up a Gear (master), Throttle (slave) and make the values 0 so they the gear switch negates all throttle stick movement.
1320Fastback is offline  
Old 11-10-2013, 04:20 PM
  #4  
JohnShe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Round Hill, VA
Posts: 1,359
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by 1320Fastback View Post
In aero you could set up a Gear (master), Throttle (slave) and make the values 0 so they the gear switch negates all throttle stick movement.
Do you know (Or anybody) how to do that on a Futaba 7C
JohnShe is offline  
Old 11-11-2013, 07:58 PM
  #5  
1320Fastback
Senior Member
 
1320Fastback's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern Occupied Mexico, CA
Posts: 998
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1329302
1320Fastback is offline  
Old 11-12-2013, 01:11 PM
  #6  
JohnShe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Round Hill, VA
Posts: 1,359
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks a bunch, I will try it out tomorrow when I have more time to fool around.
JohnShe is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.