Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

Paint to use on Solartex Fabric Covering ?

Community
Search
Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

Paint to use on Solartex Fabric Covering ?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2016, 01:13 PM
Granpooba
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Paint to use on Solartex Fabric Covering ?

Hey Folks,

Am finishing up the covering portion build of my Balsa USA Eindecker 90. Have covered is with Solartex Fabric covering and now I will need to be doing some painting.

Over many, many years of building models I have used just about every name brand of paint that you can find on the shelf, but I have never used KRYLON or RUST-OLEUM on a fabric type of covering. I have used these paints on various home, sporting and model projects, usually with great results, but this is my first build that I have ever used the Solartex Fabric covering.

Thus, I am wondering if anybody has ever used these paints on the material that I have mentioned above ? RUST-OLEUM also has a " HAMMERED " effect paint that I would like to use on the cowling for a more realistic appearance.

Also, not quite sure if I sure go with a white or gray colored primer. I assume gray would be the best primer if I was to used the HAMMERED affect paint over it.

Any advise is greatly appreciated.

Thank you ................
Old 01-10-2016, 04:51 PM
gauls22

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm hoping you get some replies because I also would like to know. What did you use to attach this to the air frame. Meaning its own adhesive or something like balsarite ?
Old 01-10-2016, 06:52 PM
Granpooba

Originally Posted by gauls22
I'm hoping you get some replies because I also would like to know. What did you use to attach this to the air frame. Meaning its own adhesive or something like balsarite ?