Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

Control horn installations..

Community
Search
Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

Control horn installations..

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2002, 05:23 PM
flyalan
My Feedback: (47)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Control horn installations..

Installing control horns requiring 3 to 4 screws and a backing plate of some sort can be a bit of a task. Getting all the holes to line and getting the screws started can be a problem. My solution to this is to grind a point on the end of each screw. The screws seem to find the hole in the backing plate much easier this way. Give it a try!
Old 01-24-2002, 03:16 PM
Goldwing-RCU

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CONTROL HORN INSTALL

I tried the grind thing and maybe because I'm a poor builder but I have a terriable time lineing up those holes. the one I'm on now you have to drill first (not treaded screws) and guess what, I missed again! (1/16" to 1/32" off!) Anay more ideas before I do the other half of the wing, tonight? - Please
Old 01-24-2002, 03:58 PM
Miniair
My Feedback: (1)

Default Re: CONTROL HORN INSTALL

Originally posted by Goldwing
I tried the grind thing and maybe because I'm a poor builder but I have a terriable time lineing up those holes. the one I'm on now you have to drill first (not treaded screws) and guess what, I missed again! (1/16" to 1/32" off!) Anay more ideas before I do the other half of the wing, tonight? - Please
Trial line up the horn exactly where you want it, mark the covering with a pen/pencil (what ever shows up). When you're happy with the position and have an outline of the horn marked, just add a very small drop of CA and place it back down on the control surface, use a drill of the proper size and drill through the holes, install the screws and back plate and you're done.