Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

Hardening screw holes with CA

Community
Search
Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

Hardening screw holes with CA

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2005, 09:54 PM
Jon B
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hardening screw holes with CA

I'm new to RC and have a question about how to harden screw holes with CA. I've read several posts about using CA to harden holes but no one mentions how to do it. Is it a simple matter of drilling the hole and putting thin CA in it or is there more to it?

Thanks.
Jon B.
Old 07-23-2005, 10:01 PM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts
Default RE: Hardening screw holes with CA

The easiest and best way is to simply drill the hole, run your screw in and then remove it, and then wick CA into the hole. You want just enough so that it covers the wood and barely seeps out of the bottom of the hole. After it's dried run the screw back into the hole to clean the threads out. That's all there is to it. Very simple procedure.

Hope this helps

Ken
Old 07-23-2005, 10:06 PM
Jon B

Ken,

Thanks! Sounds pretty simple. I'll try it.

Jon B.
Old 07-24-2005, 07:28 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 352 Likes on 282 Posts

Thin CA in case that has to be said. Its like brill creme, just a little dab will do ya.
Old 07-24-2005, 10:47 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

And make SURE it has completely set before putting the screw back in - or else that screw WON'T be coming out again
Old 07-24-2005, 02:17 PM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 352 Likes on 282 Posts

Some things ya just take for granted but thats true wait for it to set.
Old 07-24-2005, 04:20 PM
Jon B

Thanks for all you input.

Jon B.
Old 07-26-2005, 10:57 AM
kdheath