Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

Wing tube for servo wire

Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 05:23 PM
  #1
Big_Bird
Thread Starter
 
Big_Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 4,258
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Wing tube for servo wire

This subject has probably been presented but here is an easy way to make a tube for slipping the servo wire through. Get a stalk of 1/2" heat shrink tubing. Take a 1/2" wooden dowel and sand it smooth. Take a bar of soap and thoroughly coat the dowel. Slide the flat heat shrink onto the dowel the desired length. Use a Monokote or other suitable hot air gun to shrink the tubing. Don't over shrink it or it will be hard to get off the dowel. Glue it to the ribs with CA.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca82164.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	149.3 KB
ID:	785579  
Big_Bird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 05:42 PM
  #2
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,800
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire

does the hot sun finish shriking the tube? would rolled up paper be easier?
jetmech05 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 07:53 PM
  #3
bobcat10_4
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Richmond, RI
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire

What I used on my Skylane for servo and lighting wires was 1/2" paper tube ( avalable at online hobby stores), I took a short lenght of 1/2" ridgid copper pipe, made a serrated cutting edge on it with a Dremel and jewelers files, and cut through the ribs. I was even able to use this procedure with the wing built. ( less planking or tips)
bobcat10_4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 08:53 PM
  #4
Big_Bird
Thread Starter
 
Big_Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 4,258
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jetmech05

does the hot sun finish shriking the tube? would rolled up paper be easier?
A hot airplane airplane in the sunshine doesn't come close to the shrink temperature of the shrink tubing. Once it comes off the dowel it is finished. Each to his own but it took me about 3 minutes to shrink the tube and remove it from the dowel.
Big_Bird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 08:56 PM
  #5
Big_Bird
Thread Starter
 
Big_Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 4,258
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire


Quote:
ORIGINAL: bobcat10_4

What I used on my Skylane for servo and lighting wires was 1/2" paper tube ( avalable at online hobby stores), I took a short lenght of 1/2" ridgid copper pipe, made a serrated cutting edge on it with a Dremel and jewelers files, and cut through the ribs. I was even able to use this procedure with the wing built. ( less planking or tips)
I put the tubing holes in the ribs before I assemble the wing.
Big_Bird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 09:17 PM
  #6
MILDBILL-RCU
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: ROCKWELL, NC
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire

I get the clear plastic paper protector for small reports & stuff from any local store that sells school supplies. Its very thin, but very strong, adjusts to any size hole, can be doubled for longer wings, very smooth interior surface that wont snag connects & wire going through it, & it only costs a few buck for 8-10 of them, & that has lasted me about 12-14 aircraft.
MILDBILL-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 09:59 PM
  #7
johnboyrc
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cameron, WI
Posts: 281
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire

I put some tubes in my bipe after it was framed up, before covering it. I used someone else's suggestion of cotting some holes in the ribs and use rolled up typing paper for the tubes, a touch of CA to hold them in place and they have done rather well. They don't have to be really durable or heavy, they are only for routing a servo wire. Very simple to do, and cheap too... There are several ways to put tubes in, but they sure make life easier.
johnboyrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 07:56 AM
  #8
Edwin
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leander, TX
Posts: 6,194
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire

I dont use tubes anymore. A little fishing weight on some kite string and I can thread it. Got to admit the first few times were pretty aggrevating but once you get the hang of it, it goes pretty quick.
Edwin
Edwin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 09:00 AM
  #9
FlyerInOKC
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 7,628
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire

I always mount the servos before covering so tubes are not neccessary and if I need to remove them I tie a string to the wire before pulling them out. I do use tubes occasionally but I either user the paper ones or buy the tubes from the guy who makes thestuff that keeps CA from sticking to your hands.
FlyerInOKC is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 09:02 AM
  #10
Intruder38
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lake Ronkonkoma, NY
Posts: 129
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire

Another trick that I'm sure has been posted before is to use beaded light fixture pull-chain to fish your leads thru the wing ribs. Drop an end of the chain thru a hole in the end rib (or servo hatch rib) and watch it find its way, seemingly all on its own, to the other end of the route. Tie your servo connector to the end of the chain and, voila!, there you go. If the wing is uncovered , it's even fascinationg to watch, almost like one of those maze games.
Intruder38 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 09:06 AM
  #11
Charlie P.
 
Charlie P.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Port Crane, NY
Posts: 5,087
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire

I take white copier paper (11 x 17) and roll it over a dowel, carefully slide it off the dowel (a bit of masking tape holds the spiral in place), then paint with thinned TitebondII. Then I snip off the ends to length. Very light when done.

I drill out the clearance holes with a piece of copper pipe with teeth filed in the end. Cut the ribs all at once when sanding the stack or one-at-a-time after framed up by putting a pine block behind each one when twisting the pipe-cutter.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Db84823.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	73.2 KB
ID:	785928   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv64428.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	785929  
Charlie P. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 10:34 AM
  #12
KitBuilder
 
KitBuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Posts: 1,630
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire

I chuck the correct size forstner bit in benchtop drill press before ass'y.. nice smooth holes... cuts like butter.
Mike.
KitBuilder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 12:11 PM
  #13
Big_Bird
Thread Starter
 
Big_Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 4,258
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire

That's exactly the way I do it Mike. The Forstner bit is a great tool. I back up the balsa with a block of hard wood.
Big_Bird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 01:32 PM
  #14
sscherin
 
sscherin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,152
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire

I've done both the paper tube rolled on a 1/2" dowel and 7-11 Super Big Gulp Straws..

The Straws are nice and flexible if you are adding them to a built wing..
The only down side is having to temporarily remove a connector to run the wires.

Paper tubes are great if it isn't built yet.

Either way a Forstner bit is the way to go for making the holes.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf97887.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	54.6 KB
ID:	786027   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tp46147.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	49.6 KB
ID:	786028  
sscherin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 01:32 PM
  #15
dr_wogz
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Pointe Claire, QC, CANADA
Posts: 2,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire

I mostly do rolled up paper. Any colour, and sometimes recycled old print-outs & drawings (A bonus of being a drafter / mech designer - large paper & films!)

I've also done the weight & sting thing.. Also the long wire with a hook bent into it as well.

And, also have used model rocket body tubes, but they tend to be 'odd sizes'
dr_wogz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 02:01 PM
  #16
Bass1
 
Bass1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va.Beach, VA
Posts: 2,461
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire

Yeah, Everybodys got their own preference. Personally I use rolled Tracing paper. Weighs next to nothing.
Bass1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 06:26 PM
  #17
allanflowers
 
allanflowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,567
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing tube for servo wire

This is rolled paper, squished into a flat oval because the wings on this Camel are rather thin.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt56316.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	786152  
allanflowers is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:40 PM.