Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

Latex Paint Question

Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

Latex Paint Question

Old 10-27-2008, 07:27 PM
eugene

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Latex Paint Question

Looking for a brighter silver coat for the new Pony... Have heard suggestions about using Behr Metallic Silver Latex from Home Depot.
Anyone with experience in actual use and application?
Old 10-27-2008, 07:38 PM
andrew66

Default RE: Latex Paint Question

the good things about latex paint is if you get paint chips, they can make almost any color. is it going on fiberglass? ive used it over coverall, and it fills the weave nicely, but requires a clear coat if using glow. its very nice stuff to work with. i just use a brush, and when it dries, the brush strokes go away. some people spray it on, but i have no experience doing this.
Old 10-27-2008, 07:55 PM
eugene

Yes, it will be going on a glassed and primed GS plane.. My concern, can the metallic silver latex be applied with a spray gun..
I have a GS that has been covered with Wal-Mart latex house paint.. cut 50-50 and sprayed with four thin coats....Works great, even covered with auto clear coat..
Old 10-27-2008, 10:30 PM
andrew66

the best way to find out, would be to try it on scrap. everyone has different ways of thinning the paint, so i would make sure before possibly having to redo a paint job. make sure to post pics when ur done
Old 10-29-2008, 07:33 AM
ccostant
My Feedback: (38)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post