Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

Airbrushing super coverite

Community
Search
Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

Airbrushing super coverite

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2003, 11:25 AM
jchumley
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airbrushing super coverite

OK, Got my compressor yesterday and tried airbrushing. I am using artist's acrylic paint in tubes. At first, I had it way to thick and it sputtered a lot but gradually thinned it down. It seemed to go from too thick to too thin really fast. Should it be extremely sensetive to viscosity? I couldn't get it exactly right.

Also, Do I need to prepare super coverite prior to painting or just paint right on it?

Is there a really good airbrush tutorial on line somewhere?

Jeff
Old 07-16-2003, 03:33 PM
NE0
My Feedback: (9)

JWC,

I'm a professional artist and designer and have been shooting those artist's acrylics through airbrushes for over 20 years (on artist's canvas). Yes, they are very sensitive to viscosity and air volume. It's a delicate balance between the two. You'll want to thin the paint with water to a "skim milk" consistency. It's almost like shooting watercolors, and won't really "cover" with one coat in most cases.

Make sure you're "layering" the paint down in many light coats, it dries almost as quick as you lay it down, so just have a little patience and give the water a chance to evaporate out of the coat. You should be shooting at about 25 to 35 psi, depending on your airbrush. Also, it makes a HUGE difference if you have a double-action airbrush, they allow you to vary the amount of air and air pattern in realtime just like the amount of paint.

Another big issue is keeping the tip clean. I have to take mine apart and clean the tip with airbrush cleaner VERY often to keep the paint flowing well and reduce "sputtering".