Toy-Grade RC Products Post in here about toy-grade rc products and the mods you''re making to them. These typically fall in the sub $100 range.

Changing crystal in Rastar 1:14 toy car possible?

Reply

Old 12-19-2016, 04:14 PM
  #1  
TehJumpingJawa
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Question Changing crystal in Rastar 1:14 toy car possible?

I've got a pair of these cars, and they're both 27.145MHz.
I'm hoping that one (or the other) can be re-tuned to a different 27MHz channel.

The transmitter has a 27.145 crystal soldered to the board:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...er%20front.jpg

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...ter%20back.jpg

The receiver has no crystal (that I can see), but an adjustable inductor (L4):

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...er%20front.JPG

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...ver%20back.JPG

Do you think replacing the crystal in the transmitter with one sufficiently distant from 27.145, and then adjusting the inductor in the receiver until it responds to the new transmission frequency is going to work?
Or am I massively underestimating how complicated it is to switch frequencies of these toy-grade RC cars?

I'm an utter newbie when it comes to RC, but have a little experience with soldering electronics (just enough to be dangerous I suppose); so am not afraid to get my hands a little dirty.
TehJumpingJawa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 10:18 PM
  #2  
collector1231
Moderator
My Feedback: (1)
 
collector1231's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A place in a place.
Posts: 4,189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Moved thread and answered!

Yes, you could for the car, but for the crystal on the radio, just get one that matches the car and solder it in place of L4. Its gonna be hard to pinpoint with an exact frequency with a potentiometer.
collector1231 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 06:15 PM
  #3  
junkbuilder
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

^^ Im curious , How to you use a potentiometer to find the frequency? I'm pretty familiar with pots , just never knew you could do this .
junkbuilder is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service