Community
Search
Notices
Traxxas Monster Truck forum Discuss the Traxxas T-Maxx, E-Maxx, Super-Maxx and all other Traxxas monster trucks in this forum. You may also optionally discuss them in our MT general discussion forum.

10 or 20% nitro? that is the question

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2004, 08:50 AM
jayhawk25_2000
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 10 or 20% nitro? that is the question

Ok, My wife got me a sport maxx for christmas, I need to know the pros/cons of 10% and 20% fuel, I plan on using blue thunder.
Old 01-06-2004, 01:36 PM
bigjdubb

Default RE: 10 or 20% nitro? that is the question

20% all the way. I can't think of any good reason at all to run 10%.
Old 01-06-2004, 02:42 PM
jayhawk25_2000

Why is 20% so good? I am fairly new to this and have a kyosho ultima st and have been running 10% in it for 7 months now.
Old 01-06-2004, 02:52 PM
motard_man

I always noted that 10% fuel oftern leaves a sticky residue . [:-]Where as I have never noticed this with 20% fuel as yet + you always have the fact that the stronger the fuel the more explosive this should mean more power.
Old 01-06-2004, 03:18 PM
Deandome

Normally, I'd agree with those that say 20%, as it IS a "more powerful" fuel.

BUT.....it also burns hotter, and according to Traxxas, if you live in a hot climate, you might be better off with 10%. I see you live in Florida, so it's gonna be a tough call. http://www.traxxas.com/support/faq/trx_faq_nitro04.htm

'Cause I also heard (at my LHS) that once you pick a fuel "strength" it's not good to switch!! If you start w/20%, you should stay w/20%. I don't know how "gospel" this is, but I'd still say start w/20 & see if you can keep the temps in the recommended range (buy a cheap Duratrax/Ofna temp guage!!!). I'm guessing if you DO have to switch, it's better to go from 20 to 10 than from 10 to 20!!

Dean
Old 01-06-2004, 05:30 PM
diirtbag
My Feedback: (3)