Community
Search
Notices
Traxxas Monster Truck forum Discuss the Traxxas T-Maxx, E-Maxx, Super-Maxx and all other Traxxas monster trucks in this forum. You may also optionally discuss them in our MT general discussion forum.

.21 conversion help.........

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2004, 02:20 AM
IslandStyle

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default .21 conversion help.........

Hi, I'm new to this sita and I was wondering if someone could help me out here. Anyways, I am in the process of converting my T-maxx 2.5 into the .21 conversion. My problem that I have is the motor that it came with is a Hpi .21 and I tried to put the Hpi flywheel and clutch bell that it came with but I had noticed the teeth pitch is different fro the T-Maxx. I could be wrong but I found a clutch nut with washers on New-Era which makes it possible for you to utilize a flywheel and clutch setup for the T-Maxx. Is that the only way to solve the problem? Upon inspection I noticed that the crankshaft had been shortened. Any help would be great to rn the motor for the time being until I get my XTM 24.7 engine.......
Old 04-11-2004, 04:59 AM
mgreen

Default RE: .21 conversion help.........

No. I used all my orginal T-Maxx flywheel and clutchbell. Your going to have to use shims, or thin washers, to get everything to work right.

The T-Maxx uses a 32 pitch while the 1/8th stuff uses 42 pitch. You can buy conversions so that you can start using 42 pitch clutchbell and speer-gear but the 32 pitch clutchbell and speer-gear will work just fine. I hope your prepared to replace your diffs with harded stuff like Robinson Racing or whatever.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw68994.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	68.9 KB
ID:	120962  
Old 04-11-2004, 05:00 AM
mgreen

I'm running the OS RG .21
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Us52559.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	66.1 KB
ID:	120963  
Old 04-11-2004, 05:04 AM
IslandStyle