Community
Search
Notices
Traxxas Monster Truck forum Discuss the Traxxas T-Maxx, E-Maxx, Super-Maxx and all other Traxxas monster trucks in this forum. You may also optionally discuss them in our MT general discussion forum.

3.3 T-maxx, got a couple of q's...

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2007, 04:05 AM
toofazt

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3.3 T-maxx, got a couple of q's...

Hey everyone. Just signed up here and hope to learn a lot.

I just got a lightly used 3.3 T-maxx w/ some upgrades. It's got RPM front and rear A-arms, Integy chassis braces, trans RPM skid plate, front and rear RPM skid plates, Integy aluminum chassis, 1100mah NiMH Hump pack.

This is my first nitro rc car, so I'm a newb but not a dumbass I'd like to learn as much as possible about my new tmaxx to keep it in great condition.

The first time I started it up today I hit the gas, did a wheelie that flipped it over and caught my glow plug wire between my engine head and sheared the wire in half Luckily there was an extra in the pack the guy sent me. So after that it ran great! Went through about 2.5 tanks

So here's some of my questions:

1. What is a good operating temperature and how important is it to constantly check?

2. What are some common problems w/ the 3.3 if any and are there any simple mods to increase performance w/ these trucks?

3. How long do these engines usually last? I see people rate the engines by tanks or gallons of nitro?

4. The shocks on my tmaxx are kinda sagging and seem really soft, what's a good cheap suspension upgrade? Springs, different oil? (I mostly use the truck to mess around and jump stuff).

5. Who makes a reliable inexpensive safety cut off if the truck wanders out of range?

6. Are there any long lasting tough tires out there? From the one drive I did today on the stock tires I ripped one of the tires off and tore another. And the tire didn't just come unglued from the rim, it actually tore around the rim about 1/2" in