Community
Search
Notices
Traxxas Monster Truck forum Discuss the Traxxas T-Maxx, E-Maxx, Super-Maxx and all other Traxxas monster trucks in this forum. You may also optionally discuss them in our MT general discussion forum.

running to hot

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2007, 08:10 PM
knicks5171

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default running to hot

Hi everybody,

Finished breaking in my new revo yesterday. However how do I know if I am running to lean or not? I dont have a temperature guage yet so how can I tell if my engine is to hot? It is making a weird noise when I slow down. Any information is helpful. I am new to nitro cars but having experence with nitro boats and gas boats.

Thanks Alex
Old 11-01-2007, 08:14 PM
snoking16

Default RE: running to hot

if there is no blue smoke coming out of the pipe then your running to lean.
Old 11-01-2007, 08:17 PM
nitrorcjunkie

Have you leaned it out from factory settings? Look for a good amount of smoke while running. Also, you can try the 'spit test'. Spit on the glowplug area of the head after a few good high speed runs. If it bubbles and evaporates in a second or two, it's too hot. If in doubt, richen it a little. RTFM
Old 11-01-2007, 08:40 PM
ajb1205

Go and get a temp gauge!!! It's worth spending $20-$40 to help keep your engine in one piece, plus, it's a heck of a lot cheaper than replacing your engine.
Old 11-01-2007, 08:43 PM
Danju

honestly, i think the only way to know if your engine is too lean or too rich comes from experience. when i first got my nitro, i asked the same question you did. now, its very easy to tell if its rich, lean, ETC...spend a lot of time learning about the engine is like. listen to the engine and note its performance. then once youve got magic in you, the rest is history.
Old 11-02-2007, 09:46 AM
ajb1205

ORIGINAL: Danju