Traxxas Monster Truck forum Discuss the Traxxas T-Maxx, E-Maxx, Super-Maxx and all other Traxxas monster trucks in this forum. You may also optionally discuss them in our MT general discussion forum.

throttle servo noise

Reply
Old 12-08-2007, 07:06 PM
  #1
sunco1
Thread Starter
 
sunco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Washington, NJ
Posts: 1,580
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default throttle servo noise

i took my revo apart just for some good cleaning, and when i took out the throttle servo, i heard something rattleing inside...

i have been having this problem that when im coming back from high speeds my thottle sticks at a certain point. i still hace control of steering but not throttle. and like 3 seconds later i regain control.

could this noise inside be the cause?

and is it time to get a new servo???
sunco1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 07:14 PM
  #2
george3.3
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Loveland , CO
Posts: 180
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: throttle servo noise

it sounds like it is time for a new one. first open up the case and see what is rattling around inside. it could be something getting caught in the gears but you never know until you open it. good luck!
george3.3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 07:19 PM
  #3
REVO X
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 377
Default RE: throttle servo noise

as montecristo said... open it up and see what causes the rattling, maybe the gears are not meshing right of pieces of the gear are tearing apart... if thats the case you might end up getting a new servo.
REVO X is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 07:23 PM
  #4
sunco1
Thread Starter
 
sunco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Washington, NJ
Posts: 1,580
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: throttle servo noise

ok thanks. i will do that now. hos much oz. of torgue does the stock one put out?
sunco1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2007, 05:02 PM
  #5
george3.3
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Loveland , CO
Posts: 180
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: throttle servo noise

i think its around 80oz you can get a stock one on ebay really cheap uless you want to upgrade it. which i would do.
george3.3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 05:26 AM
  #6
Hairballusmaximus
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: red bluff, CA
Posts: 292
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: throttle servo noise

If you have to replace the servo consider the tower hobbies high torque or the hitec 5645 (160 or 180 oz in @6 volts cant remember which) If it is only strpped gears you can get gear sets for 4-6 bucks
Hairballusmaximus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 05:40 AM
  #7
squeeguk
 
squeeguk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Camberley, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 574
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: throttle servo noise

My throttle servo did the same thing, there is an IC or resistor or something that should be soldered to the board on the bottom of the servo, this has broken off and is rattling, not very good quality.

I have now replaced it with a Hitec HS-645MG, which is more than enough to drive the throttle fully open now without any hassles.

Don't try and use a digital servo with the standard receiver, it doesn't work. I tried a digital servo and it just twitched the whole time and through it's travel.
squeeguk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 05:48 AM
  #8
Hairballusmaximus
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: red bluff, CA
Posts: 292
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: throttle servo noise

Didnt know that about the digital stuff, Mine has hi-tec fm 75mhz rec in it. High torque servo also equal awsome brakes.
Hairballusmaximus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 02:52 PM
  #9
sunco1
Thread Starter
 
sunco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Washington, NJ
Posts: 1,580
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: throttle servo noise

so will the 5645mg work with stock reciever?
sunco1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 03:40 PM
  #10
sunco1
Thread Starter
 
sunco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Washington, NJ
Posts: 1,580
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: throttle servo noise

so lets say i bought a spektrum dx2... could i then use digital servos?

because i want to get a hitec digital servo for a single steering conversion
sunco1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 04:25 PM
  #11
squeeguk
 
squeeguk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Camberley, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 574
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: throttle servo noise

From what I understand, you need something like the Spektrum or an FM (could be wrong here) system to use a digital servo. However I have an Airtronics which is a computer radio which I use on my Revo, but still the stock receiver, but not 2.4Ghz, and was told that so long as you can adjust the EPA, then you should be ok. With the stock Traxxas receiver, the digital servo I used didn't like it, however in the Spekky receiver it works a treat.

Perhaps, give Traxxas support a call and ask them to make double sure.
squeeguk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:29 AM.