RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Traxxas Monster Truck forum (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/traxxas-monster-truck-forum-251/)
-   -   OS vs TRX (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/traxxas-monster-truck-forum-251/5986080-os-vs-trx.html)

HARC_PT 06-14-2007 07:36 AM

OS vs TRX

Hi!
After 12 liters of fuel my TRX 2.5R died... [&o]
Now i'm thinking on buy a new engine... I'm not very happy with traxxas carb and it seems that the TRX 3.3 have the same carb as the TRX 2.5R... Is the TRX 3.3 so hard to tune as the TRX 2.5R... How is it hold's the tune?
I'm a beginner and i'm not a racer, so, anyone can say to me what should be my best choice: TRX 3.3 or OS.18TM?
Best regards
HARC

cujoman 06-14-2007 07:57 AM

RE: OS vs TRX

both are good but definitely go with the o.s. tm ... much more power and keeps a tune better! enjoy
how were you running the 2.5R that it only lasted you 12 ltrs? were you running lean? my friend did that and it only lasted him 1 gallon.

Berlina 06-14-2007 08:00 AM

;)
I have killed TWO trx 3.3 engines.

I just replaced the last one with a O.S. .18tm, & I love it.....More power & easier to tune.

ttoks 06-14-2007 08:16 AM

and the O.S is cheaper, has an excellent track recored, plenty of people running them to get tech support from, and about the same power as a trx 3.3, direct drop it as well, it uses the same engine mount, pipe and header as the TRX engines, and it is ez start ready, so you can just bolt the ez start on the back and go.

HARC_PT 06-14-2007 10:42 AM

This is my story: