Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft Discuss the ins & outs of building & flying multi engine rc aircraft here.

Counter rotating or not

Old 03-16-2019, 08:15 AM
Skyhawk940

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Counter rotating or not

I'm building an OV-10 electric and don't know if I should use counter rotating motors or not. First of all will a brushless motor run backwards as well as forward (same power)? I know if you reverse two of the three wires it will run the other way. Counter rotating; I've saw were some people say it doesn't make much difference. What do you think??? I'm new to twins and have plans for more.
Skyhawk
Sandusky, OH
Old 03-16-2019, 02:19 PM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

If you can get the prop then yes, its worth doing. If it's not a common prop size then I wouldn't worry about it.

There is no running backwards or forwards, however you hook it up it runs, it doesn't know or care which way its spinning.
Old 03-17-2019, 05:15 AM
Skyhawk940

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

I know some of the motors, to reverse the motor, the shaft needs to slide through the motor and come out the other side. Doesn't make sense to me.
What's a good source of electric props?

Skyhawk

Last edited by Skyhawk940; 03-17-2019 at 05:31 AM.
Old 03-17-2019, 05:32 AM
Skyhawk940

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Old 03-17-2019, 01:07 PM
BarracudaHockey

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Originally Posted by Skyhawk940 View Post
I know some of the motors, to reverse the motor, the shaft needs to slide through the motor and come out the other side. Doesn't make sense to me.
What's a good source of electric props?

Skyhawk