Community
Search
Notices
Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft Discuss the ins & outs of building & flying multi engine rc aircraft here.

Twinstar Monster

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2006, 11:18 PM
Suo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Twinstar Monster

Ive been thinkin of building a twinstar with a set of O.S. 40 LA motors vs the O.S. 25 Fx motors and get the bonus .4hp together. I figure Id mate it to a 9x7 prop to keep the rpms down.

If I sound like a nub its because I am. Ive never owned an RC plane but I have realflight G3. Dont blast me yet, Im also a Commercial/Multi/IFR Pilot, I know it doesnt mean squat.

Anyway if I crash because its to fast o well n my skill are noobish im fine with that. I took the twinstar in realflight and added the 0.S. .40 Fx with a 9x7props and if u keep the rpm with in 17,000rpm (factory Redline) it will easly hit over 100 mph. That motor makes 1.36hp vs the .40 LA's 1 hp so with 9x7 running WOT shouldnt overspeed the motor. As for the airframe I have no idea what the never exceed speed would be.
Old 01-28-2006, 01:20 AM
SIMCO
My Feedback: (33)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Twinstar Monster

Real world vs. computer. It might be close. Too bad you will run out fuel in 3 minutes. One off sized tanks with no retrofit. 32's are fun on this plane and covers alot of real estate. Still won't out run a hot duellist 2 cents
Old 01-28-2006, 01:56 AM
Flight Risk
My Feedback: (1)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

These planes are mighty speedy with .25 LA engines and still don't get long flights. 8-10 min. at mostly WOT. Also these planes need a lot of runway to slow down. Bigger, heavier engines will need a faster landing speed. You would almost need flaps or brakes. I know these are flown with .40's but there's really no need. If you get to much weight and speed you will also stress the wings. another 2 cents.

FR
Old 01-28-2006, 07:30 AM
iflyj3
My Feedback: (7)