Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft Discuss the ins & outs of building & flying multi engine rc aircraft here.

"Nosen Cessna 310 Club"

Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 06:21 AM
  #1026
Thisstrangeengine
 
Thisstrangeengine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Douglassville, PA
Posts: 311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

Nice work terry. I like the wire loom also, I was just looking at some of that yesterday thinking if it might be better than the paper tube method of running servo wires to the outer panels.
Thisstrangeengine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 06:32 AM
  #1027
jsparky
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Waterloo, ON, CANADA
Posts: 29
Default RE:



Well not to be left out but as my project is going.. I have the engines and some of the servos.. more on the way.. just ordered the twinsync for the engines.. so I have just about all I need to start on it except for landing gear.. would like retracts but with out paying 800 for them from robart's that is just insane.. the plan is to set up the engines with a single tank and hard pipe the fuel trough the wing to both engines.. and install two seperate electrical systems.. likely a 2200 lipo with voltage regulators for the engines and a 5000 for the servo's .. I am setting up a similar system on my super stearman only I am using a single 5000 lipo with two regulators to run engine and servos.. if this works out then I will likely go with the dual system on the 310...

jsparky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 11:23 AM
  #1028
thisoldman
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: arcadia, FL
Posts: 428
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE:

without 2 tanks, you may have a problem keeping gas to both engines.. i tried this myself and would only work with a fuel pump to push to both engines. one tank was too far away from both engines to work right. need a constant fuel supply so both engines get equal amount of fuel..

just my thoughts.
thisoldman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 12:14 PM
  #1029
jsparky
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Waterloo, ON, CANADA
Posts: 29
Default RE: RE:

Opps... forgot to mention that they are 30cc gassers.... when I fired them up to check them... they would draw fuel through 5 feet of tubing from 2 1/2 feet above the floor... not bad really... so I am thinking that a couple of feet on the same level through the wing shouldn't be a problem.. 2 fuel outlets from a single tank .. the ideal is to try and centralize everything to the center of the wing.. then maybe have a hatch on the fuse to gain access to the charge switches fuel ... if your wondering why I tried running fuel that far... the truth is that I didn't want to cut up my fuel line.. and the tank fell off the bench... that is how I found out it would do it...

jsparky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 05:52 PM
  #1030
Bill Diedrich
Thread Starter
 
Bill Diedrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ventress, LA
Posts: 1,291
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE:

We have a new member to welcome into our midst:

Dwhorn #59 from Wisconsin


Here's extending a very warm welcome to our little group of Cessna 310
lovers, especially this big beautiful creation that Bud Nosen created many
moons ago. Come on it and introduce yourself.

Bill D.
Bill Diedrich is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 06:01 PM
  #1031
Thisstrangeengine
 
Thisstrangeengine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Douglassville, PA
Posts: 311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

Welcome dwhorn... [8D]
Thisstrangeengine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 06:15 PM
  #1032
Clavin01
 
Clavin01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

Welcome Dwhorn
Clavin01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 06:22 PM
  #1033
Warbirdguy
 
Warbirdguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wartrace, TN
Posts: 601
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

On my C47, I run a single 24oz tank on top of the wing center. Two outlets, one to each engine. Used this same configuration with two Four stroke glow engines. I think the trick was, putting the tank on top of the wing skin. That gave it a positive flow to engines when plane was level. Thats what works for me.

WBG
Warbirdguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 03:22 PM
  #1034
Clavin01
 
Clavin01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

Hello All
Well finally got to working on the twin again,
Successful Surgery on the 2nd wing Panel, Now to make up 4 new ribs to cap the Center section and
Wing Panel, Then some Filling and Sanding a little planking and Covering to finish. New Props and spinners ordered
as well as the four Additional servos I need for it. Plan is to maiden her in April. Just maidened my A-26 Invader Twin
Last Saturday, Good Flight , Landing was good right up until the front gear mount let loose. Easy Fix. Will get some
Pics as I make progress. [8D]
Clavin01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 03:24 PM
  #1035
Clavin01
 
Clavin01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

Hey terry.mortimore
Is your Wing going to be 2 Piece Joined in the Middle or the normal 3 Piece?
Can't tell from your Pictures, Thanks Cliff
Clavin01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 06:15 PM
  #1036
terry.mortimore
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sault Ste Marie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 72
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:


Hi Glen, I'm building a one piece wing.


cheers, Terry.
terry.mortimore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 07:03 PM
  #1037
jsparky
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Waterloo, ON, CANADA
Posts: 29
Default RE: RE:

just a curious question crossed my mind... very short trip... but is there a way to tell the differance between a nosen kit and an AA kit once it has been built for 20 years or so
jsparky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 07:58 PM
  #1038
Bill Diedrich
Thread Starter
 
Bill Diedrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ventress, LA
Posts: 1,291
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jsparky

just a curious question crossed my mind... very short trip... but is there a way to tell the differance between a nosen kit and an AA kit once it has been built for 20 years or so

Not to my knowledge, the only difference in the kits were in the latter part of the production on the AA Industries kits
the dies were becoming very dull, hence the "die-crushed" label on many of the kits most people purchased in the mid
to late 80's, the kit be it Bud Nosen or AA Industries were from the same original plans and dies for cutting, it's just before
AA stopped producing them in very limited numbers the cutting wan't the greatest. So once built the airframes were identical,
just depends on how detailed the builder was creating the finished product.

Bill D.
Bill Diedrich is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 01:29 AM
  #1039
AmishWarlord
 
AmishWarlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indian Trail, NC
Posts: 2,939
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

Looks like Bud Nosen used aircraft ply wile AA used what looked like ply from damaged interior door skins that they bought at discount then cut up.

AmishWarlord is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 03:54 AM
  #1040
Bill Diedrich
Thread Starter
 
Bill Diedrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ventress, LA
Posts: 1,291
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:


Quote:
ORIGINAL: AmishWarlord

Looks like Bud Nosen used aircraft ply wile AA used what looked like ply from damaged interior door skins that they bought at discount then cut up.

On a couple of ply pieces there was Luan Ply used, usually was the firewalls for the engine nacelles and #F-1, other than that that is all
that I can remember from my current AA Industries kit that I have. I think that some of the very early kits that AA produced had good
aircraft ply untill he started cutting cost in the later production runs, and to my knowledge this is when Bud Nosen became very disgusted
with the owner of AAI and he had them detach his name from the labeling on the kits, the reason a lot of the later kits had no label at all.

Bill D.
Bill Diedrich is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 08:14 AM
  #1041
Thisstrangeengine
 
Thisstrangeengine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Douglassville, PA
Posts: 311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

I had an AA Citabria that had alot of die-crushed parts in it! I never built it as I would have had to replace alot of the parts so I ended up selling it at my club auction. I think I paid 65.00 for it and sold it for 90.00 a few years later. Wish I had it now, but oh well! It was a large box of wood for sure...
Thisstrangeengine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 10:20 AM
  #1042
AmishWarlord
 
AmishWarlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indian Trail, NC
Posts: 2,939
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

Yeah if your up to it cutting your own is the way to go.
AmishWarlord is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 11:57 AM
  #1043
flyme2moon
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: northridge, CA
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

Hi Amishwarlord, I have a question regarding the wing spars on the 310 you mentioned on jan 29 2012 Balsa with carbon fibre laminations , what size balsa? and I assume that the laminations would be verticle when installed into the wing, is this correct?
flyme2moon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 01:16 PM
  #1044
AmishWarlord
 
AmishWarlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indian Trail, NC
Posts: 2,939
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

Hi. The rule of thumb is when replacing hardwoods with balsa you increase the size by 20%.

Also, no, the laminations will be horizontal. The stress on a spar is compression and "fancy word for stretching that I'll edit in later to give the illusion of intelligence". The spars job is to resist the upward and downward bending of the wing.

I remember when carbonfiber strips came to RC models. Everyone, "I'm guilty also!" was gluing them vertically on the spars instead of capping the outsides of the top and bottom spars.



AmishWarlord is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 06:53 PM
  #1045
Warbirdguy
 
Warbirdguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wartrace, TN
Posts: 601
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

he he he...yep, I remember those days also I remember the the suggested way to use them in a foam wing was to take an exacto knife, cut a vertical slit, top and bottom, the length of the wing panel and insert the ribon into that slit. Course, now as Amish says, we all know that was wrong. I simply just glue two ribbons under the skin of my foam panels now running the length and caping the main spar. Works fine and havnt had an issue yet
Warbirdguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 05:10 PM
  #1046
dwhorn
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: De Pere, WI
Posts: 15
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

My glass fuse was delivered today from G&L Hobbies. Really nice layup. Quality work!! Going to save a lot of building time.
Plan to use DLE 30's for power. I am going to modify the stab so they plug into the fuse. Wings will be three piece. Carbon fiber tubes.
dwhorn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 05:55 PM
  #1047
Clavin01
 
Clavin01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

Where's the Pictures?
Clavin01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 06:59 AM
  #1048
bps
 
bps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,334
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE:

Yes pictures please. I am strongly considering this option as well.
bps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 11:42 AM
  #1049
dwhorn
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: De Pere, WI
Posts: 15
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

Few pictures of the glass fuse for you. I want to install the nose gear before I join the fuse halves. I have a question regarding strut length. What is the correct length from base of retract to center of wheel axle on nose gear and the mains?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx69976.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	55.5 KB
ID:	1731718   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sn40000.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	76.2 KB
ID:	1731719   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ze86790.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	82.4 KB
ID:	1731720  
dwhorn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 11:53 AM
  #1050
dwhorn
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: De Pere, WI
Posts: 15
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RE:

Site wouldnt allow more than 3 pictures to post. Couple more pictures of fuse.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh16821.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	74.3 KB
ID:	1731722   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mh20760.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	70.5 KB
ID:	1731723   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pu50774.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	83.1 KB
ID:	1731724  
dwhorn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:08 PM.