Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 36

Thread: tf dc3


  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    n. wilkesboro, NC
    Posts
    17
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    tf dc3

    bought a dc 3 from a freind that had two evo 46, neither would run, so i am trying to chose what to put back, should i go ele or go with back glow, if i go back with glow what would should i get, two cycle

  2. #2
    LargeScale88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Marion, IA
    Posts
    1,151
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    I would stay with the glow, and get OS 46ax 2 stroke engines. Only about 150 a piece I think. Great reliable engines. Evos aren't the greatest. I've been running OS for a long time, and you want a reliable engine in an airplane like that.

    Good Luck

  3. #3
    ggraham500's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    605
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    Here is the url from Top Flite for the DC-3

    http://www.top-flite.com/airplanes/topa0500.html

    Based on their specs, I would suggested a couple of light weight .40 cu two-strokes or a couple of Saito FA-56 would sound great, IMHO. The wing loading is pretty high, so you will have to fly this plane carefully and all the way through the landing. Definitely not a floater.

    SPECIFICATIONS
    Stock Number: TOPA0500
    Wingspan: 82.5 in (2095 mm)
    Wing Area: 750 inΒ² (48.8 dmΒ²)
    Weight: 8-10 lb (3630-4540 g)
    Wing Loading: 24.6-30.7 oz/ftΒ² (75-94 g/dmΒ²)
    Fuselage Length: 55.5 in (1410 mm)
    Required: 2-stroke .25-.40 cu in or 4-stroke .40-.52 cu in engine & 4-8 channel radio with 6-9 servos (2 micro)
    With airplanes, keep the pointy end going forward as much as possible.

  4. #4
    aerofly0610's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Green Bay , WI
    Posts
    402
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    Use ebay and find some OS 40la's.  I have a pair of magnum 52FS, that I got half off from hobby people, that will go on my TF DC3.  Otherwise a magnum 2s would work as well.
    Team Jesus Freak
    Yup you can love God AND airplanes... life is great
    Vet USAF B52 Crew Chief 00-04

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Gardnerville, NV
    Posts
    1,724
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    I was thinking along the same lines, two 46's could be too much for a 8 lb. plane.

    Thunder Tiger 36's, OS-40 FP's or 52 4-strokes may be a better choice.

    I love airplanes, that's enough...

  6. #6
    Rickles56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    334
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    I have a friend who built this plane and started with two stroke OS 46FX's and they were way too much power. He moved into the OS 52FS's and these four strokes sounded better and performed much better all around. I think OS sells a 56 4-stroke now with similar specs.
    Rickles, the Desert Dust Devil
    B17\'\'s, are there anything else?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    n. wilkesboro, NC
    Posts
    17
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    the reason i am think outrunners, it would be easy to get everything in senc

  8. #8
    aaflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    175
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    Here is my E-powered TF C-47. Power 32's. More than enough power. AUW weight is 9.5lbs. The E-powered conversion is pretty easy.

    Al
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Fd92019.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	165.3 KB 
ID:	1493978   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Gb89102.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	165.9 KB 
ID:	1493979   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Va71946.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	194.6 KB 
ID:	1493980  

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    n. wilkesboro, NC
    Posts
    17
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    aaflyer, how have you got your thrust angles set, and what props are you running, the power setup is going to be the the same as power 32

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Woodville, WI
    Posts
    1,159
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    ORIGINAL: aaflyer

    Here is my E-powered TF C-47. Power 32's. More than enough power. AUW weight is 9.5lbs. The E-powered conversion is pretty easy.

    Al

    Sweet! I have my kit still in the box, awaiting build time.. Also to be E-powered.


    Don't mean to steal the thread, but I'd be interested to hear how you handled/placed ESC, batteries, cooling, etc. Pictures would be wonderful.. if you've got the time that is. Details on the power system; batteries, motor, esc, prop size, would all be appreciated.

    There's another thread somewhere asking how to e-power this bird.
    http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_9910220/tm.htm

    And do my eyes see the Robart air retracts? How those working for you?
    β€œIt is possible to fly without motors, but not without knowledge and skill.\" - Wilbur Wright

  11. #11
    aaflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    175
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    I took out the Thrust angle. Props are the Master Airscrew 10x7's, Running 4S 3700mah Batts. The Batts fit up front, the Hatch is removable and it will balance perfectly. The ESC's will fit in the cowling, I have vents in the Dummy Radial's for cooling, no issues so far. Yes those are the Robarts, I was so what sceptical as to if they would hold up, but so far so good. Flies and lands like a big trainer.

    Al

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Upplands Vasby, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,348
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    Hi!
    .40 or .46 engines are way way too large!!!
    .20 with 9x4 APC or even .15 two strokes with 8x5 APC or RAM props will fly the great planes DC-3 just fine.
    Jan Karlsson - Supplier MVVS Products

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    n. wilkesboro, NC
    Posts
    17
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    my motors came in but the mounts have not yet, so it will be a awhile before mine flys, that's ok have to the others get ready for fly for tots

  14. #14
    Fili's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Queensbury, NY
    Posts
    544
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    I ran mine with two Tower hobbies .40s too fast for scale. Very pretty in the air tho....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ca81567.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	342.3 KB 
ID:	1511556   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lg17675.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	311.3 KB 
ID:	1511557  
    Phil
    CORSAIR Brotherhood #20

    Gimme a vector Victor....

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Gardnerville, NV
    Posts
    1,724
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    Beautiful C-47.

    Had them on my ATC base in the 60's for training.

  16. #16
    PilotJunky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    24
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    Where did you get the Dummy Radials for the TF-DC-3?

    Thanks.
    Rich.

    Phoenix, Arizona

  17. #17
    JohnBuckner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Kingman, AZ
    Posts
    9,058
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    The newest of the AX's the OS .35AX would be wonderful on that airplane. They have all the attributes that are perfect for multi's especially throttling characteristics and low idle. I have seven now and only one on a single the rest on multi's.

    Oh the suggestion to go to Ebay for engines is the worse thing you could do for the survival of your airplane.

    The singles get the old or junk engines but my multis always get the best possible and always new. I even prefer to break them in together and at the same times on a multi test stand.

    John
    \"Keep your controllines tight\"

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    san diego, CA
    Posts
    1,670
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    Anyone want one of these partially done?
    Time flies like a brick thru the window of life.

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Carrollton, VA
    Posts
    2,011
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    Yeah, you can ship it to me!

  20. #20
    bigphil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Davenport, IA
    Posts
    407
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    I started with Magnum XL 40s on mine and it flew like a pylon racer. The full scale ships look like they are almost in slow motion in the air so I was completely dissatisfied with the way my model flew. It now has Magnum .30 4 stokes on it which are a much better match in my opinion.
    Big Phil
    AMA 6762

  21. #21
    peternj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Monroe Township, NJ
    Posts
    207
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    Hello,
    I'm in the process of building the TF DC-3 and need advice on engine selection. Saito FA-56CL or Saito FA-40CL? I'm thinking the 40, what are your thoughts gents?

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Upplands Vasby, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,348
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    Hi!
    As we have said earlier . Either .20-.30 four strokes or OS.20-25 FP or La two strokes. NO bigger!!!!!!!
    Jan Karlsson - Supplier MVVS Products

  23. #23
    TEBerg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Clovis, CA
    Posts
    435
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    Peter,

    If you go with either of those two engines, don't get the "CL" model. That stands for Control Line and do not have any throttle control.

    I have pretty much decided on Saito 40a's for my DC-3. I have a larger Saito and love the way it behaves. I understand these may be "too big" for this kit, but the Top Flight design article said they work fine. The article actually says that four-stroke 26's would be the smallest to fly this plane, so the 30's should also be great. However, I'm planning on leaving myself some cushion for power and when it is time to fly "scale" just not jamb the stick to full...

    Lastly, in case of future kit disassembly - I think the Saito 40's will go into some other planes better than the little 30's.

    Pilot Junky - I got my dummy radial engines from Dare Hobby. I'm also planning to use their bomber crew for the pilots because they seem to be the correct size/scale.

    edited for typos.
    Blue Skies,
    Tom B.

  24. #24
    peternj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Monroe Township, NJ
    Posts
    207
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    TEBerg,

    Thank you for the advice.. totally spaced on the CL, I meant FA. Also there's talk of twinsync tecchnology to keep the motors in synch. Any thoughts http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_47...36/key_/tm.htm 

    -peter

  25. #25
    TEBerg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Clovis, CA
    Posts
    435
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: tf dc3

    Peter,

    I did take a quick look at that type of unit. However, I opted to go for a radio that has two throttle curves for airplane use (JR9503). I was tempted to just go and sync the engines on the high and low ends, but kept reading about how it is better to keep them in sync through the entire throttle range. So I looked at a couple of options.

    Since I wanted to get a 2.4 radio any way, I picked the more expensive option of a radio which had twin throttle curves. I think the setup will be fine using a tachometer and 5-point throttle curves to keep the engines within a couple hundred RPM. You set it up like old-school helicopter throttle/pitch curves.

    Also, the twin sync needs to have a magnet and sensor. You would need to run some type of back plate behind the props to mount the magnet (just like on helicopters with governor magnets on the cooling fan)… I don’t know how that would work on props with no spinners. However, I did not read through all 36 pages of comments on that unit, there may be options for reading the back plate of the engine.
    Blue Skies,
    Tom B.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.