Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft Discuss the ins & outs of building & flying multi engine rc aircraft here.

tf dc3

Reply
Old 08-30-2010, 09:21 PM
  #1
skyhawk019
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n. wilkesboro, NC
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default tf dc3

bought a dc 3 from a freind that had two evo 46, neither would run, so i am trying to chose what to put back, should i go ele or go with back glow, if i go back with glow what would should i get, two cycle
skyhawk019 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 09:58 PM
  #2
LargeScale88
 
LargeScale88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 1,151
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

I would stay with the glow, and get OS 46ax 2 stroke engines. Only about 150 a piece I think. Great reliable engines. Evos aren't the greatest. I've been running OS for a long time, and you want a reliable engine in an airplane like that.

Good Luck
LargeScale88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 10:04 PM
  #3
ggraham500
 
ggraham500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 605
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

Here is the url from Top Flite for the DC-3

http://www.top-flite.com/airplanes/topa0500.html

Based on their specs, I would suggested a couple of light weight .40 cu two-strokes or a couple of Saito FA-56 would sound great, IMHO. The wing loading is pretty high, so you will have to fly this plane carefully and all the way through the landing. Definitely not a floater.

SPECIFICATIONS
Stock Number: TOPA0500
Wingspan: 82.5 in (2095 mm)
Wing Area: 750 in² (48.8 dm²)
Weight: 8-10 lb (3630-4540 g)
Wing Loading: 24.6-30.7 oz/ft² (75-94 g/dm²)
Fuselage Length: 55.5 in (1410 mm)
Required: 2-stroke .25-.40 cu in or 4-stroke .40-.52 cu in engine & 4-8 channel radio with 6-9 servos (2 micro)
ggraham500 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 10:25 PM
  #4
aerofly0610
 
aerofly0610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Green Bay , WI
Posts: 402
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

Use ebay and find some OS 40la's.  I have a pair of magnum 52FS, that I got half off from hobby people, that will go on my TF DC3.  Otherwise a magnum 2s would work as well.
aerofly0610 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 11:23 PM
  #5
Carlos Murphy
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gardnerville, NV
Posts: 1,795
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

I was thinking along the same lines, two 46's could be too much for a 8 lb. plane.

Thunder Tiger 36's, OS-40 FP's or 52 4-strokes may be a better choice.

I love airplanes, that's enough...
Carlos Murphy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 11:38 PM
  #6
Rickles56
 
Rickles56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 334
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

I have a friend who built this plane and started with two stroke OS 46FX's and they were way too much power. He moved into the OS 52FS's and these four strokes sounded better and performed much better all around. I think OS sells a 56 4-stroke now with similar specs.
Rickles56 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 08:57 PM
  #7
skyhawk019
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n. wilkesboro, NC
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

the reason i am think outrunners, it would be easy to get everything in senc
skyhawk019 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 06:46 AM
  #8
aaflyer
 
aaflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 175
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

Here is my E-powered TF C-47. Power 32's. More than enough power. AUW weight is 9.5lbs. The E-powered conversion is pretty easy.

Al
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd92019.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	165.3 KB
ID:	1493978   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gb89102.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	165.9 KB
ID:	1493979   Click image for larger version

Name:	Va71946.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	194.6 KB
ID:	1493980  
aaflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 07:26 AM
  #9
skyhawk019
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n. wilkesboro, NC
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

aaflyer, how have you got your thrust angles set, and what props are you running, the power setup is going to be the the same as power 32
skyhawk019 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 10:52 AM
  #10
vmsguy
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodville, WI
Posts: 1,159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

Quote:
ORIGINAL: aaflyer

Here is my E-powered TF C-47. Power 32's. More than enough power. AUW weight is 9.5lbs. The E-powered conversion is pretty easy.

Al

Sweet! I have my kit still in the box, awaiting build time.. Also to be E-powered.


Don't mean to steal the thread, but I'd be interested to hear how you handled/placed ESC, batteries, cooling, etc. Pictures would be wonderful.. if you've got the time that is. Details on the power system; batteries, motor, esc, prop size, would all be appreciated.

There's another thread somewhere asking how to e-power this bird.
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_9910220/tm.htm

And do my eyes see the Robart air retracts? How those working for you?
vmsguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 07:42 AM
  #11
aaflyer
 
aaflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 175
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

I took out the Thrust angle. Props are the Master Airscrew 10x7's, Running 4S 3700mah Batts. The Batts fit up front, the Hatch is removable and it will balance perfectly. The ESC's will fit in the cowling, I have vents in the Dummy Radial's for cooling, no issues so far. Yes those are the Robarts, I was so what sceptical as to if they would hold up, but so far so good. Flies and lands like a big trainer.

Al
aaflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 02:36 PM
  #12
jaka
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Upplands Vasby, SWEDEN
Posts: 7,683
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

Hi!
.40 or .46 engines are way way too large!!!
.20 with 9x4 APC or even .15 two strokes with 8x5 APC or RAM props will fly the great planes DC-3 just fine.
jaka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 12:28 PM
  #13
skyhawk019
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n. wilkesboro, NC
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

my motors came in but the mounts have not yet, so it will be a awhile before mine flys, that's ok have to the others get ready for fly for tots
skyhawk019 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 05:58 PM
  #14
Fili
 
Fili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Queensbury, NY
Posts: 638
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

I ran mine with two Tower hobbies .40s too fast for scale. Very pretty in the air tho....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca81567.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	342.3 KB
ID:	1511556   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lg17675.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	311.3 KB
ID:	1511557  
Fili is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 06:43 PM
  #15
Carlos Murphy
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gardnerville, NV
Posts: 1,795
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

Beautiful C-47.

Had them on my ATC base in the 60's for training.
Carlos Murphy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 10:05 PM
  #16
PilotJunky
 
PilotJunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 24
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

Where did you get the Dummy Radials for the TF-DC-3?

Thanks.
PilotJunky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 06:26 PM
  #17
JohnBuckner
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,329
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

The newest of the AX's the OS .35AX would be wonderful on that airplane. They have all the attributes that are perfect for multi's especially throttling characteristics and low idle. I have seven now and only one on a single the rest on multi's.

Oh the suggestion to go to Ebay for engines is the worse thing you could do for the survival of your airplane.

The singles get the old or junk engines but my multis always get the best possible and always new. I even prefer to break them in together and at the same times on a multi test stand.

John
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 10:07 PM
  #18
MANFRED
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: san diego, CA
Posts: 1,677
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

Anyone want one of these partially done?
MANFRED is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 10:55 AM
  #19
JeffH
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carrollton, VA
Posts: 2,263
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

Yeah, you can ship it to me!
JeffH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 06:09 PM
  #20
bigphil
 
bigphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 412
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

I started with Magnum XL 40s on mine and it flew like a pylon racer. The full scale ships look like they are almost in slow motion in the air so I was completely dissatisfied with the way my model flew. It now has Magnum .30 4 stokes on it which are a much better match in my opinion.
bigphil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 10:03 PM
  #21
peternj
 
peternj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Monroe Township, NJ
Posts: 247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

Hello,
I'm in the process of building the TF DC-3 and need advice on engine selection. Saito FA-56CL or Saito FA-40CL? I'm thinking the 40, what are your thoughts gents?
peternj is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 08:23 AM
  #22
jaka
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Upplands Vasby, SWEDEN
Posts: 7,683
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

Hi!
As we have said earlier . Either .20-.30 four strokes or OS.20-25 FP or La two strokes. NO bigger!!!!!!!
jaka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 03:03 PM
  #23
TEBerg
 
TEBerg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

Peter,

If you go with either of those two engines, don't get the "CL" model. That stands for Control Line and do not have any throttle control.

I have pretty much decided on Saito 40a's for my DC-3. I have a larger Saito and love the way it behaves. I understand these may be "too big" for this kit, but the Top Flight design article said they work fine. The article actually says that four-stroke 26's would be the smallest to fly this plane, so the 30's should also be great. However, I'm planning on leaving myself some cushion for power and when it is time to fly "scale" just not jamb the stick to full...

Lastly, in case of future kit disassembly - I think the Saito 40's will go into some other planes better than the little 30's.

Pilot Junky - I got my dummy radial engines from Dare Hobby. I'm also planning to use their bomber crew for the pilots because they seem to be the correct size/scale.

edited for typos.
TEBerg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 05:05 PM
  #24
peternj
 
peternj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Monroe Township, NJ
Posts: 247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

TEBerg,

Thank you for the advice.. totally spaced on the CL, I meant FA. Also there's talk of twinsync tecchnology to keep the motors in synch. Any thoughts http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_47...36/key_/tm.htm 

-peter
peternj is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 10:40 AM
  #25
TEBerg
 
TEBerg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tf dc3

Peter,

I did take a quick look at that type of unit. However, I opted to go for a radio that has two throttle curves for airplane use (JR9503). I was tempted to just go and sync the engines on the high and low ends, but kept reading about how it is better to keep them in sync through the entire throttle range. So I looked at a couple of options.

Since I wanted to get a 2.4 radio any way, I picked the more expensive option of a radio which had twin throttle curves. I think the setup will be fine using a tachometer and 5-point throttle curves to keep the engines within a couple hundred RPM. You set it up like old-school helicopter throttle/pitch curves.

Also, the twin sync needs to have a magnet and sensor. You would need to run some type of back plate behind the props to mount the magnet (just like on helicopters with governor magnets on the cooling fan)… I don’t know how that would work on props with no spinners. However, I did not read through all 36 pages of comments on that unit, there may be options for reading the back plate of the engine.
TEBerg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:49 PM.