RCU Forums

RCU Forums (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/twin-multi-engine-rc-aircraft-192/)
-   -   Twinstar Monster (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/twin-multi-engine-rc-aircraft-192/3834255-twinstar-monster.html)

Carlos Murphy 02-01-2006 12:41 AM

RE: Twinstar Monster

Quote:

ORIGINAL: Suo

Ive been thinkin of building a twinstar with a set of O.S. 40 LA motors vs the O.S. 25 Fx motors and get the bonus .4hp together. I figure Id mate it to a 9x7 prop to keep the rpms down.

If I sound like a nub its because I am. Ive never owned an RC plane but I have realflight G3. Dont blast me yet, Im also a Commercial/Multi/IFR Pilot, I know it doesnt mean squat.

Anyway if I crash because its to fast o well n my skill are noobish im fine with that. I took the twinstar in realflight and added the 0.S. .40 Fx with a 9x7props and if u keep the rpm with in 17,000rpm (factory Redline) it will easly hit over 100 mph. That motor makes 1.36hp vs the .40 LA's 1 hp so with 9x7 running WOT shouldnt overspeed the motor. As for the airframe I have no idea what the never exceed speed would be.
Been there, done that.
When the first Twin Star's came out (5 years ago?) I did mine with OS 40 FP engines but with stock tanks.
Flew great but for only 7 or 8 minuets per flight. Planes handles "engine outs" very well, more than enough rudder for one engine flights, lands like a trainer but of course thats what this plane is, a twin trainer.
My second generation Twin Star is a "VOLTER".

Edwin 02-01-2006 09:01 AM