Community
Search
Notices
Unusual R/C Discuss Airships, Blimps, LTA, VTOL, Ground Effect Vehicles, Hovercaft and more.

Rocket assisted take off

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2005, 03:01 PM
THE_RED_BARON77

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rocket assisted take off

Has anyone ever tried to strap rockets to there rc plane and the take off with there assistance, if so lease tell me ow you did it, pics and video would be a great help,, building a scale c130 like the ble angel Fat Albert, and need rockets tohelp me get off te ground!!
Old 08-08-2005, 11:06 PM
derek_lee_alby

Default RE: Rocket assisted take off

hey there red baron...I've never done this before myself however I do remember reading a website about two brothers I believe that built a home-made rc plane out of stripped 2X4's and put a weed eater engine on it...they then put model rockets on top of the plane to launch as missiles(not a really good idea but the assured everybody they launched them in the middle of a giant cornfield somewhere). Anyway, when they went to fly it the added wait was to much and it was difficult to get it in the air. That's when the decided to add the JATO(Jet Assisted Take-Off). I believe they used 6 D size model rocket motors which can be bought at almost any hobby shop. I'm not sure how they ignited the motors but I think they used some battery's. Anyway, you could probably find more information on it if you just did a yahoo search for the website. I'm not sure what the address is but I know they called it the Weed Whacker Plane. It was quite a while back when I saw this website so lemme know what you find out. Also lemme know what you do and I'd really like to see some pictures when your done!!! Or even video if you have that capability!!!

Derek Lee
Old 09-30-2005, 01:39 PM
Carl.E