Community
Search
Notices
Unusual R/C Discuss Airships, Blimps, LTA, VTOL, Ground Effect Vehicles, Hovercaft and more.

Rx/Tx suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2010, 07:03 PM
charleshuff1953

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rx/Tx suggestions

I want to radio control my zero turn mower. I think I need to get a 3 channel radio as I need forward/reverse on each wheel (the mower has independent levers that control each rear wheel) and possibly a kill switch on the third channel...

Any advice on radio transmitter/ receiver / Servos is greatly appreciated. I have NEVER built anything like this before. The zero turn mower seems the best choice to control remotely and I already have one. Thanks for any advice at all.

Old 03-08-2010, 10:41 PM
Lorduss

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Rx/Tx suggestions

for dual sticks you pretty much need to go with a cheap 4 channel airplane controller, and extra channels dont hurt you well find ways to use them
there are alot of even budget 6 channel systems, and since your on the ground you dont need to worry about reliability.
one note on any airplane controller the left side is a clicker for throttle, the right is sprung, you could replace one side to match the other, very simple in alot of radios with a little soldering etc.
that is probbly your best bet.
also for kill switch, may want to look into the failsafes, they cut powered if they lose TX signal, might help ya
Old 03-08-2010, 11:32 PM
Lightfoot
My Feedback: (1)

The 72 mhz radios are for air use only. You will need to stick with a radio that is intended for surface use.
Old 03-09-2010, 12:01 AM
charleshuff1953

So, I think you are saying I need two servo's per stick? what do you think about this servo: http://www.servocity.com/html/heavy_...vo__25__l.html