Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Dave Patrick Extra 330L

Introduction

I've been flying radio control since 1975 with my first venture into Giant Scale in the late 1970's when Byron Originals came out with their 1/3 scale Pitts(now available through Iron Bay Model Company ). This was also my first venture into gas. Gas engines have come a long way since then, and I'm still a big advocate. Due to some changes in my life I was forced to sell my 35% and 40% planes and choose one plane around 25%. I looked at everything offered in this size, and found that Dave Patrick Models (DPM) released a Extra 330L ARF that best filled my need. Along with Dave's reputation, I figured the Extra would be a good bet. I wasn't disappointed. Dave Patrick is known for great flying planes, and the Extra 330L is no exception.

The Extra 330L has a 78" wingspan and is 74" long with 1220 sq. in. of wing area. Though considered a 25% scale plane the dimensions suggest a larger model. As a comparison, the 29% Aeroworks' Edge is only 2" longer and has a bit less wing area at 1200 sq in, even though its wingspan is 84".

Although Dave does not recommend gas for this plane, it seemed an appropriate size, and Dave himself had been testing a Taurus TS-42 42cc gas engine in one of his prototypes with great success. A friend of mine is also a big proponent of the Taurus, and though I knew little about them, I figured I'd try one out. I wasn't disappointed here either. I'll give more details later.

Construction